See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

View Poll Results: Would you purchase an AutoCAD specific keyboard

Voters
131. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes. Yes. Yes. Been waiting for this for years!

    25 19.08%
  • Sure. If it works and aids productivity.

    72 54.96%
  • Maybe. But sounds a little wierd.

    10 7.63%
  • No. Don't want or need such a device.

    24 18.32%
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39

Thread: AutoCAD Keyboard

  1. #21
    AUGI Addict madcadder's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Too far from the beach
    Posts
    1,034
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    Quote Originally Posted by jhohman
    Just found this in the Google news archive, sounds like a standalone solution everyone could live with. It's called the Optimus keyboard and it's pretty remarkable in the fact that the keys are individual digital displays and therefore can change the keyboard layout depending on the program it's being used for, look at the images and you can see how it switches from standard QWERTY to any language (Russian is shown because that's where it was developed), to Photoshop, to Quake. I could see the application to AutoCAD very possible through this.......

    http://www.artlebedev.com/portfolio/optimus/
    Very nice! That looks like a well constructed keyboard.

    I think the one I'm SLOOWLY working on right now will be less expensive in the long run, but props for finding a cool product.

  2. #22
    Member bob.kalsi66006's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Posts
    39
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    Quote Originally Posted by todw
    Don't think of it as a keyboard, but rather as a gameboard for AutoCAD use.

    Take a group of commands and organize them. The buttons would not be "A" or "H", but rather MOVE, COPY, ROTATE, LINE, etc.

    one press of the button issues an autocad command.
    Couldn't you just do that by customizing your tool bar? I've customized mine so that I've got commands such as Cancel, Snapbase, Regen, Copy with base point, Paste as block, various scale buttons. We've even created a command that flattens a 3d drawing.
    Simple as this may sound but it definately helps when you're feeling tired and can't be bothered to move your hand just to press ESC.

  3. #23
    100 Club tlewald's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-01
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    bob-kalsi, you get tired of pushing keys?

  4. #24
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    Quote Originally Posted by todw
    Very nice! That looks like a well constructed keyboard.

    I think the one I'm SLOOWLY working on right now will be less expensive in the long run, but props for finding a cool product.

    Definately and interesting product........I wouldn't think it would be useful for AutoCad.
    Once the shortcuts are memorized the user hardly ever looks at the keyboard.

  5. #25
    AUGI Addict kennet.sjoberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-05
    Posts
    1,707
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    Nope, AutoCAD is not the only program running on my computer.
    And a misplaced "press the button" is one to mush.
    A physically different keyboard, no thank you.
    A software modified keyboard yes.
    Shift R rotate, Shift C copy, Shift M mirror . . . .

    : ) Happy Computing !

    kennet

  6. #26
    100 Club tomcarver's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Tucker, GA
    Posts
    106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Smile Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    Hi,
    This is a very interesting conversation. Since r14 we have been using a product called autohook.
    (http://www.command-digital.com/) This is a very small program that allows you to re-program all keys on your keyboard. Yes, F keys, arrow keys, 'insert", page up" etc. You can also multiply this by adding shift, control or alt. I think all of us probably use the pgp file or some lsp files for l = line m = mirror. I have my arrow keys set for 0, 90, 180, 270 and ctl arrow for 45, 135 etc. Very handy.
    This is a great product, check it out.

  7. #27
    Member sicko's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    high altitude SICKness!
    Posts
    14
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    http://www.ergodex.com/mainpage.htm

    anybody using something like this?

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    About 15 years ago when we upgraded to 486 machines, I got a Gateway 2000 with a 120 key programmable keyboard. 2 or 3 machines later, I am still using it. I have replaced the "F" & "J" keys about 3 times and some keys are making strange noises when pressed but I just can't give it up.

    Was that Optimus $1500 dollars? How do you justify that cost to management?

  9. #29
    All AUGI, all the time CADDmanVA's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    881
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    I'm on board if the product does what it should, and costs what it should. I used the Nostromo Speed Pad n52 in AutoCAD 08. Others on here can attest to how well it works, when it works well. Cost is low too, about $30.

    I really like the idea of having caps you can insert icons under. I had a "map" on the monitor for my Speed Pad. Perhaps if the company you contacted can make a product similar, and package it with a utility specific for AutoCAD, it may catch on.

    Anyhow, I'm in, and I'd be happy to alpha or beta test anything you work out.

  10. #30
    AUGI Addict Railrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    1,181
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Keyboard

    I have X-keys. Fully programmable with 1 key being a toggle between 2 levels. My 20 key pad accommodates 38 commands / macros. Easy to program & it has clear button caps so you an make your own labels. Even gives specs so you can draw a grid in ACAD & type the labels to print & cut. I've been using mine for over 7 years. I programmed it for Raster Design commands, but threw in a few for repetitive ACAD commands.
    Give people a job worth doing, the tools to do it, recognition of a job well done & get out of the way.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Gaming Keyboard for AutoCAD?
    By vsheehan in forum Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2015-07-01, 02:37 PM
  2. Autocad 2010 keyboard shortcuts list
    By kathey1 in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-10-14, 11:00 PM
  3. AutoCAD 2008 crashes on keyboard input
    By jeffrey-webb in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-12-12, 04:01 PM
  4. Keyboard speed (quick keys) in AutoCAD 2007
    By andrewp in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2006-11-29, 07:55 PM
  5. AutoCAD 2006 Keyboard/Command Line Lag
    By killerrig2 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-01-03, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •