Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Open Template file from a Network location

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Open Template file from a Network location

    Hello All,
    I am creating a custom command that will open a specific template file ("dwt") located on a network folder.
    The problem is that instead of opening that file, Autocad prompt for the file name and @ that point if I hit enter, it opens the file.
    Can anybody help me eliminate that prompt.
    Also I am not sure if the filedia variable that I am trying to reverse @ the end of the macro will work.
    Any ideas.
    Below is the macro I am trying to use.

    ^C^C_filedia 0 new I:\library\templates\misc\1.dwt filedia 1^C^C_

    I appreciate any ideas.

    Thank you all.

    Jaime Silva

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Hi

    Could you not just use the _.QNew command?

    Have a good one, Mike

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Hi

    Could you not just use the _.QNew command?

    Have a good one, Mike
    Hi Mike,

    This is the way we do, but I was trying to eliminate the steps of searching the many network folders we have with different template files.

    Thanks.

    Jaime

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Quote Originally Posted by drafting.82475
    This is the way we do, but I was trying to eliminate the steps of searching the many network folders we have with different template files.
    Hi

    Sorry you have lost me here a little...

    _.QNew does not require searching of "many network folders".

    Options -> Files tab --> Template Settings -> Default Template File Name for QNEW

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Hi

    Sorry you have lost me here a little...

    _.QNew does not require searching of "many network folders".

    Options -> Files tab --> Template Settings -> Default Template File Name for QNEW

    Have a good one, Mike
    Hi Mike,

    I have inside my template folder on the network, 7 different folders w/ template files. What I am trying to accomplish is, under my workspace "Details", create a toolbar where I can open template files ( 6 different detail templates ) from one of the seven folders on the network with a click of a button (1 button for each different template - total 6 buttons).
    When I use the QNew, I can only open one of the 6 files I have inside that specific folder.
    The reason behind this is that we draw a large amount of details here, if I can get this done, I will be reducing about 120 mouse clicks on a daily basis.

    Thank you.
    Jaime

  6. #6
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Hi

    Ok! how about setting up "X" number of AutoCAD desktop icons and using the /t command line switch...

    ID: TS17888 - Start with specific drawing template

    ID: TS24235 - Defining a default drawing template file

    ID: TS22957 - Startup switches

    Have a good one, Mike
    Last edited by Mike.Perry; 2007-05-23 at 06:21 AM. Reason: Links updated.

  7. #7
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Hi

    Plus take a look at the following...

    Opening a New Drawing from a Toolbar Button

    +

    ID: TS64255 - Automating loading a template and starting a new drawing

    Have a good one, Mike
    Last edited by Mike.Perry; 2007-05-23 at 06:22 AM.

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Open Template file from a Network location

    Hello Mike,
    The link "Opening a New drawing from a toolbar button", looks like what I am trying to accomplish. I will give it a shot.
    Thanks again.

    Jaime

Similar Threads

  1. Sheet Set Template File Location in c#
    By oakam430373 in forum RealDWG
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2017-09-04, 01:47 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-06-04, 06:45 PM
  3. Template file location
    By gadjet in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-12-04, 07:50 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-01-22, 11:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •