Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

  1. #1
    Active Member gjburkett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    71
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    I'm currently trying to build some new standards and I've decided the best thing to do is to Xref the titleblock into our drawings. Ideally, I would want the titleblock "Visretain" value set to 0 so that I can save the particular settings and it would be set for all my files. However, I prefer "Visretain" set to 1 so that when I Xref floor plans and stuff, I can gray them out and turn all layers and it will always remember that each time I open the file. Is there a way to have one Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,541
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by gjburkett
    I'm currently trying to build some new standards and I've decided the best thing to do is to Xref the titleblock into our drawings. Ideally, I would want the titleblock "Visretain" value set to 0 so that I can save the particular settings and it would be set for all my files. However, I prefer "Visretain" set to 1 so that when I Xref floor plans and stuff, I can gray them out and turn all layers and it will always remember that each time I open the file. Is there a way to have one Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1?
    I don't believe that system variable is xref dependent. I believe the visretain is an all or nothing type variable.

    Richard
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by richardl.25628
    I don't believe that system variable is xref dependent. I believe the visretain is an all or nothing type variable.
    Hi

    Just to echo what Richard has said above...

    System variable VisRetain is a per drawing file setting.

    Xref's that are brought into a drawing file "Master" behave based on the VisRetain setting of the "Master" drawing file.

    Have a good one, Mike

  4. #4
    Active Member gjburkett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    71
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Thanks for the replies guys. That's what I figured. I was hoping that I was wrong and you could set each file individually, but oh well. I think I found a work around though. I'm going to rely on layer states a lot more than I wanted to.

  5. #5
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,800
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by gjburkett
    I'm currently trying to build some new standards and I've decided the best thing to do is to Xref the titleblock into our drawings. Ideally, I would want the titleblock "Visretain" value set to 0 so that I can save the particular settings and it would be set for all my files. However, I prefer "Visretain" set to 1 so that when I Xref floor plans and stuff, I can gray them out and turn all layers and it will always remember that each time I open the file. Is there a way to have one Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1?
    You could create a custom routine to set visretain to 0, reload the titleblock xref, then set visretain back to 1.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to LanceMcHatton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    301
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by gjburkett
    I'm currently trying to build some new standards and I've decided the best thing to do is to Xref the titleblock into our drawings. Ideally, I would want the titleblock "Visretain" value set to 0 so that I can save the particular settings and it would be set for all my files.
    One thing you may want to consider (and maybe you're already doing this) is split up the titleblock into two (or more) different files. The parts that change are a BLOCK (perhaps with atributes) and the parts that do not change are an XREF.

    I don't know if that helps with your specific situation but there you go.
    Lance McHatton

    AutoCAD 2019
    Windows 10
    I swear, I did not dado that rabbet.

  7. #7
    Active Member gjburkett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    71
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by LMcHatton
    One thing you may want to consider (and maybe you're already doing this) is split up the titleblock into two (or more) different files. The parts that change are a BLOCK (perhaps with atributes) and the parts that do not change are an XREF.

    I don't know if that helps with your specific situation but there you go.
    LMcHatton, I've been thinking about what you said and I still don't see how that would beneficial. If the parts that change are a BLOCK, I would still need to update each file. I trying to prevent this so that I just have to updat the titleblock file once and it will be updated for all files. The only way I know to do this (that I know) is to set the visretain to 0. However, that messes up my other XREFs like floor plans and other files. Saving layer states won't even save the XREF layers if visretain is set to 0. So far, I've concluded that the only way to do this is to only have the titleblock XREFed in (no other file) and set the visretain to 0 or update each individual file with the various methods that one could do.

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,541
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by gjburkett
    LMcHatton, I've been thinking about what you said and I still don't see how that would beneficial. If the parts that change are a BLOCK, I would still need to update each file. I trying to prevent this so that I just have to updat the titleblock file once and it will be updated for all files. The only way I know to do this (that I know) is to set the visretain to 0. However, that messes up my other XREFs like floor plans and other files. Saving layer states won't even save the XREF layers if visretain is set to 0. So far, I've concluded that the only way to do this is to only have the titleblock XREFed in (no other file) and set the visretain to 0 or update each individual file with the various methods that one could do.
    What types of items will be changing on your titleblock? Do you add layers / linetypes to your titleblock for different aspects of your drawings?

    I am having trouble understanding your need for the visretain variable be changed to 0. The variable is used to control the properties of the layers located within the eXternal REFerence drawing. If you change the colors or the linetypes of your titleblock, then you would need to adjust the visretain and reload the XREF as rkmcswain suggested.

    Just $0.02.
    Richard
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    Active Member gjburkett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    71
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by richardl.25628
    What types of items will be changing on your titleblock? Do you add layers / linetypes to your titleblock for different aspects of your drawings?

    I am having trouble understanding your need for the visretain variable be changed to 0. The variable is used to control the properties of the layers located within the eXternal REFerence drawing. If you change the colors or the linetypes of your titleblock, then you would need to adjust the visretain and reload the XREF as rkmcswain suggested.

    Just $0.02.
    Richard
    Thanks, Richard. Let me try to explain what changes. For example, things like turning our architect's seal on when the sets are complete or having a "not for construction" label when they're not done yet. So let's say I'm going along with all my sheets having the "not for construction" label on my titleblock. Then, let's say a project is complete and now I would like to turn off the "not for construction" label and turn on the seal. Instead of going to every sheet and doing this, I would like to set it up so that I just have to do it to the titleblock file one time and all the sheets will appear correctly. Does that help explain it better?

  10. #10
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,541
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Xref Titleblock - Xref visretain set to 0 and another Xref set to 1

    Quote Originally Posted by gjburkett
    Thanks, Richard. Let me try to explain what changes. For example, things like turning our architect's seal on when the sets are complete or having a "not for construction" label when they're not done yet. So let's say I'm going along with all my sheets having the "not for construction" label on my titleblock. Then, let's say a project is complete and now I would like to turn off the "not for construction" label and turn on the seal. Instead of going to every sheet and doing this, I would like to set it up so that I just have to do it to the titleblock file one time and all the sheets will appear correctly. Does that help explain it better?
    How about this. (I trying to brainstorm with you a little.)

    Why not xref the seal into your titleblock on a layer that will always be on in your titleblock. Then unload the seal xref in the titleblock drawing. Then when you are ready to go to final drawings, you open the titleblock drawing, reload the seal xref and then go to print.

    Just a thought.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Visretain by xref not by drawing
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2015-04-30, 11:03 PM
  2. yet another visretain xref question
    By cr_gixxer in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-08-05, 09:41 PM
  3. 2008 SCALE 1:100 xref xref xref xref- scale list issues
    By Apsis0215 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-21, 08:17 PM
  4. Visretain / xref layer state collapse
    By phoulx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-03-01, 05:57 PM
  5. Visretain to hold only layers modified from original xref
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-02-28, 08:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •