Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Wood Flooring in Revit???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Wood Flooring in Revit???

    Hello,

    I am a new user on my first Revit project. Very cool stuff, but i can't seem to get the hang of rendering with the procedural wood finishes that are supplied with the program.

    Specifically, I am trying to render a wood plank floor. The model pattern doesn't want to show up when i render, so the floor looks horrible.

    Does anyone have a good wood floor bitmap material???

    Attached is the rendering...see what i mean!!!

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time DanielleAnderson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Mostly in Mom-land
    Posts
    704
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    I have a great wood floor that I made in accurender, it's not a bitmap though, so AUGI won't let me upload the .mlib file. If you give me your email address, I can email it to you.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???


  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to cosmickingpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    North of the 49th
    Posts
    476
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    Just change the file extension to something else like .jpg and then you can upload it, then the other person can change it back to .mlib.

    Quote Originally Posted by dacree
    I have a great wood floor that I made in accurender, it's not a bitmap though, so AUGI won't let me upload the .mlib file. If you give me your email address, I can email it to you.

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict christopher.zoog51272's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Cinnaminson, NJ / NYC
    Posts
    1,096
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    you can also zip it then post it.
    Chris
    SOM | New York

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict Scott Hopkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    Nice rendering! It would look even better if you dumped just about all of your AccuRender procedural materials and went with bitmap based materials. It can make a huge difference.

    Attached are a couple of wood floor bitmaps to get you started.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to Matt Brennan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    281
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    If you are looking for a variety of good textures, I suggest you go to www.viz2000.com . There you can search over a thousand textures plus if you using 3DS Max or Viz, you can even search for objects such as landscape, cars, trees, furniture, and so on. The search is endless!

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    Quote Originally Posted by blacount
    Specifically, I am trying to render a wood plank floor. The model pattern doesn't want to show up when i render, so the floor looks horrible.
    I also notice rings in the floor rendering. I have had this unwanted effect before. What is its cause and cure?

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to cosmickingpin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    North of the 49th
    Posts
    476
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    you need to increase your DPI relative to image size. Perhaps scale your floor pattern up too. The problem is unresolved rendering data due to tight and complex bitmaps.


    Quote Originally Posted by truevis
    I also notice rings in the floor rendering. I have had this unwanted effect before. What is its cause and cure?

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Wood Flooring in Revit???

    Quote Originally Posted by cosmickingpin.67846
    you need to increase your DPI relative to image size. Perhaps scale your floor pattern up too. The problem is unresolved rendering data due to tight and complex bitmaps.
    That's good to know. I've been using around 500x500px jpgs lately. Is that about right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Add Wood Flooring to floor?
    By bwilliams133 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-11-02, 04:32 PM
  2. flooring design tool
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-08-28, 10:45 PM
  3. Precast T-Beam and block flooring system family?
    By Yeudin in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-11, 02:34 PM
  4. Is wood framing a Revit feature?
    By buttonsrtoys in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-02-10, 09:02 AM
  5. Precast concrete flooring
    By IanR in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-01-05, 05:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •