See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Firm Organization

Login to Give a bone

Default Firm Organization

I work in a smaller company of about 30 employees and function as the Cad Manager and IT administrator. Recently there has been some debate on firm org. so i guess I'm wondering how it is at other places.
    Who is your direct supervisor and how do you relate the the other design staff?

Thanks,

Chris

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Firm Organization

I am an asistant Cad Manager, there for I report to the cad manager, and he reports to the office manager. As far as the team who sets up orginization.... well i think our company could function a bit better. Our Designers answer to thier specific PM and the PM reports to the office manager. Our IT staff is incharge of all network orginization based on office manager, PM and Cad Manager suggestions.

Now our office could use some major orginization as far as how work enters the cad department and scheduling. But that i think will be a major issue to tackel here in this office.

I hope that helps.
    Emily

Login to Give a bone

Its interesting that everyone reports to the office manager. Are they in charge of the global office operations then i assume?
    We have some employees here with the office manager title but they their responsibilities include answer phone calls, order supplies and write letters.

Chris
    Last edited by CNAPIERALA; 2005-08-15 at 05:21 PM.

Login to Give a bone

I think it really depends on the nature of the business. I currently have the title of CAD Manager and I report to the Director of Engineering. The main reason for this is so that I am considered a peer to the other Managers in the engineering department and there is no favoritism shown towards any of the engineering departments because of who you report to.