See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

  1. #1
    100 Club jsr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Virginia - USA
    Posts
    134
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    We've got Arch Desktop 2004 (using as AutoCAD only - no Desktop amenities). Many times we will open a dwg file just to view or plot. Every time we close those drawings, we are prompted to "save changes." I have tested this out: open a drawing & close that drawing with nothing in between. No zooms, pans... Nothing in between OPEN & CLOSE, yet we are still prompted to "save changes."

    Is there a way to change this? If you make no changes, it shouldn't prompt you to save something you didn't do, right? It's a small thing, but something that really shouldn't happen. Right?

    Thanks in advance for any input & help.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to scwegner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    449
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    It happens because AutoCAD considers lots of things a drawing change. If it's happening when all you do is open and then close, then I would guess that you have a lisp or something that runs at startup that's registering as a change. You can get a better idea of what's happening by checking the dbmod system variable.

    1 Object database modified
    4 Database variable modified
    8 Window modified
    16 View modified
    32 Field modified

    You can suppress it with vlisp using acdbSetDbmod( ) but that can be dangerous because if you don't do it correctly it may not prompt when there really was a change you wanted to save.
    Another way is to use acad-push-dbmod and acad-pop-dbmod with the same risk.
    Last edited by scwegner; 2005-08-19 at 02:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    If you open a second file that is seen as a change to the first file.

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Hi

    Check out the following Technical Document on the Autodesk web site under the Knowledge Base section -

    ID: TS42354 - Save changes prompt displays when no changes to drawing were made

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    100 Club jsr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Virginia - USA
    Posts
    134
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Quote Originally Posted by scwegner
    You can suppress it with vlisp using acdbSetDbmod( ) but that can be dangerous because if you don't do it correctly it may not prompt when there really was a change you wanted to save.
    Another way is to use acad-push-dbmod and acad-pop-dbmod with the same risk.
    Well, I'll not worry about it since it's such a trivial thing when there is the possibility of it not prompting when it should.

    Thanks for the info anyway, guys!

  6. #6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Is there any example on how to do that with vlisp?

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael.Zindath773861 View Post
    Is there any example on how to do that with vlisp?
    Check out: http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...0-FFEA28E5A86F
    and: http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/EN...b7ccc-6ad4.htm
    for ideas to put in to your acaddoc.lsp file
    Code:
    (setvar 'dbmod 0)

Similar Threads

  1. API Control of Prompts
    By Wish List System in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-05-15, 11:57 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-10-24, 03:45 PM
  3. Block prompts
    By gfreddog in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-05-26, 04:40 PM
  4. Defaults in prompts?
    By g_wong in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-01-30, 04:53 PM
  5. Keywords in prompts for Block Attribute Prompts.
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-01-13, 04:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •