See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Upgrading to XP

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Upgrading to XP

    I have been informed by our IT department that we are looking to upgrade our operating system from the current Windows 2000 to Windows XP. Last fall we upgraded AutoCad from 2004 to ADT 2005 and I suspect we will be staying with that for a while.

    My question . . . are there any "issues" that I should be aware with regarding this upgrade from a cad standpoint? I would like to make the "higher up" aware of any glitches that may affect either productivity or cad support.

    Thanx,
    Joseph Navin
    Excel Engineering

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    You shouldn't have any problems as long as everything is a nice clean install.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  3. #3
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,624
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    Just make sure that cad users belong to the Power Users group.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    Ed,

    Excuse the dumb question . . .

    What do you mean by Power Users Group? Is this an actual users group or just a loose term to define the serious cad users?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,289
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Upgrading to XP

    Quote Originally Posted by joe.n
    Ed,

    Excuse the dumb question . . .

    What do you mean by Power Users Group? Is this an actual users group or just a loose term to define the serious cad users?

    Joe
    It's a classification within windows that sets certain rights for users.
    look under your control panel > user accounts and you can see the options in there. You'll see the user accounts on the pc: the user name, the domain and their group (user, power user or administrator).

    good luck with your upgrade.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  6. #6
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,624
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    Thanks Melanie.
    Your IT guy would probably do this anyway, but I would seriously reccommend rebuilding the pc and installing XP fresh, as opposed to "upgrading". Its more work, but well worth it as far as stability goes.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    Thanx for the input so far.

    I spoke with our IT guy right before lunch and he said that this will be happening in the next couple of weeks so I am going to come back next week and see if there are any additional comments. He also mentioned that we will be running Winsdows XP Professional, service pack 2 (if that matters) and that we will be receiving new pcs so it should be a fresh install.

    Thanx, again

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    I remember there being some sort of issue between Windows XP Service Pack 2 and AutoCad. I would suggest making sure you have all the most current AutoCad patches.

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    Quote Originally Posted by rhall.72202
    I remember there being some sort of issue between Windows XP Service Pack 2 and AutoCad. I would suggest making sure you have all the most current AutoCad patches.
    The only issue I know of was the Windows firewall blocking the communication center from contacting the Autodesk server. If you don't use the firewall you shouldn't have a problem.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  10. #10
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,653
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Upgrading to XP

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe
    Just make sure that cad users belong to the Power Users group.
    Hi

    I believe that is only a requirement for AutoCAD 2002 users or below...

    ID: TS70312 - Permissions required to run on Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional

    +

    Below quotes come directly from AutoCAD 2004 reviews...

    Quote Originally Posted by JTB World
    Support for installation without power user rights.
    Quote Originally Posted by DotSoft
    Operating Systems: AutoCAD 2004 is now Windows XP certified, and runs fine on Windows 2000 as well. Power user privileges are no longer required. Operating systems such as Windows 95/98/Me are not supported. In our opinion these operating systems were never stable enough to be considered for AutoCAD anyway.
    Have a good one, Mike

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Trouble upgrading
    By jagnag1359425 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-10-30, 04:00 PM
  2. Upgrading to 2011
    By lee.johnson in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-05-06, 11:38 AM
  3. Upgrading to 64 bit O/S?
    By ccowgill in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-07-18, 01:40 PM
  4. Upgrading
    By tcdavis in forum DV - The 3rd Dimension
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-03-31, 08:14 PM
  5. Upgrading ADT?
    By StephenJ in forum ACA General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2005-12-23, 03:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •