Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Greenville, S.C.
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Hi All,

    I'm trying to understand some of the options with lookup tables and could use some help.

    Steps so far...
    I have created a dynamic block that has different visibility states.
    Some of the vis. states have text
    The views with text have the option to move the text

    Now I want to be able to use a lookup table to define different text sizes for multiple scales......but I'm having trouble understanding what properties to add so the input properties scale the text based on the lookup property. (This is what I think I should be doing?????)

    Thanks

    David

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,521
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    David,

    You might try the search utility with *lookup* *table* in the search field.

    This forum may help you a as well ->AutoCAD 2006 Dynamic Blocks
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Quote Originally Posted by dmay
    Hi All,

    I'm trying to understand some of the options with lookup tables and could use some help.

    Steps so far...
    I have created a dynamic block that has different visibility states.
    Some of the vis. states have text
    The views with text have the option to move the text

    Now I want to be able to use a lookup table to define different text sizes for multiple scales......but I'm having trouble understanding what properties to add so the input properties scale the text based on the lookup property. (This is what I think I should be doing?????)

    Thanks

    David
    Hi David,

    I am going to move this over to the Dynamic Blocks forum, as you will have better luck over there. You may want to search that forum as well, you might find what you are looking for already posted.

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Greenville, S.C.
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Smile Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Thank you for putting me in the right spot
    Last edited by dmay; 2005-10-12 at 07:03 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Greenville, S.C.
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    This is what I've found out so far.......but still need help

    Create a linear parameter and scale actions that scale your text linked to that linear
    parameter
    Create a lookup parameter and action. In the lookup action table, click the add
    properties... button to add the linear parameter you made to do the scaling. You can then
    set various scales and descriptions for your lookup action that will change the linear
    parameter. Make sure you set the "Allow reverse lookup" at the bottom of the right pane
    of your lookup action.



    I still don't have something set right....

    Text Size = 3/32

    I scaled it up to 1 1/2" to represent 3/4" = 1'-0" (Standard detail size)

    I want to add text scale of......
    2 1/4" for 1/2" = 1'-0"
    3/4" for 1 1/2" = 1'-0"
    and
    3/8" for 3" = 1'-0"

    Which settings go into which property?

    Thanks for any help

    David

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Quote Originally Posted by dmay
    This is what I've found out so far.......but still need help

    Create a linear parameter and scale actions that scale your text linked to that linear
    parameter
    Create a lookup parameter and action. In the lookup action table, click the add
    properties... button to add the linear parameter you made to do the scaling. You can then
    set various scales and descriptions for your lookup action that will change the linear
    parameter. Make sure you set the "Allow reverse lookup" at the bottom of the right pane
    of your lookup action.



    I still don't have something set right....

    Text Size = 3/32

    I scaled it up to 1 1/2" to represent 3/4" = 1'-0" (Standard detail size)

    I want to add text scale of......
    2 1/4" for 1/2" = 1'-0"
    3/4" for 1 1/2" = 1'-0"
    and
    3/8" for 3" = 1'-0"

    Which settings go into which property?

    Thanks for any help

    David
    David,

    I feel for ya. I've been learning to work with Dynamic Blocks for about 1 month and it's all been self-taught. I don't have any answers to your question as I am only about to start learning what lookup tables are all about. But I figured I'd point you in the right direction ..... try this website:

    http://www.mathworks.com/access/help...ledynamic.html

    It's the best I can offer ...... at least until a few weeks from now when I figure it all out ...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Greenville, S.C.
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    I don't believe that link relates to Autocad.

    FYI - I figured out my Lookup Issue.......but have a new issue.

    I have added an alignment parameter to the block.....and now I'm trying to figure out how to keep the text from rotating.

  8. #8
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Quote Originally Posted by dmay
    I don't believe that link relates to Autocad.

    FYI - I figured out my Lookup Issue.......but have a new issue.

    I have added an alignment parameter to the block.....and now I'm trying to figure out how to keep the text from rotating.
    My bad. I copied the wrong link. But since you solved your own problem, I suppoe there's no need for me to re-submit it, is there?

    As for the alignment parameter, all I found was this:

    Defines an X and Y location and an angle. An alignment parameter always applies to the entire block and needs no action associated with it. An alignment parameter allows the block reference to automatically rotate around a point to align with another object in the drawing. An alignment parameter affects the rotation property of the block reference. In the Block Editor, looks like an alignment line.


    So all I can think of doing would be to either remove the text from the parameter and action set OR to lock the location of the text.


    My idea is that if you remove the text from the action, then it should not be included in the Alignment parameter and thus, not be included when the block moves or aligns. But the counter point is that since the alignment parameter applies to the entire block, maybe the text will be rotated and flipped no matter what.


    The other idea is that maybe locking the location of the text might make it exempt from rotating or moving when the Dynamic Block is activated. I doubt this would work though it is worth a shot.


    I'm still relatively green to Dynamic Blocks and so my knowledge on them overall is fairly limited.


    ----------------------------


    I found this online, and I figure it may be of some help to you: (I'm pretty sure this one's AutoCAD related )


    http://discussion.autodesk.com/threa...sageID=4854363
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  9. #9
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,521
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Quote Originally Posted by dmay
    I don't believe that link relates to Autocad.

    FYI - I figured out my Lookup Issue.......but have a new issue.

    I have added an alignment parameter to the block.....and now I'm trying to figure out how to keep the text from rotating.
    Have you looked in the sample dynamic blocks provided. Those may provide some insight in how to do it.

    Disclaimer: I haven't touched the dynamic blocks issue, yet.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  10. #10
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Blocks Lookup Table Help

    Quote Originally Posted by richardl.25628
    Disclaimer: I haven't touched the dynamic blocks issue, yet.
    Hehe. You're funny.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Secondary Sorting Column for Dynamic Block Property Lookup Table
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2017-11-13, 01:09 PM
  2. 2014: Unable to input angles in lookup table - Dynamic Block
    By sandeep_koodal in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-12-31, 11:30 AM
  3. Inserting dynamic blocks into table?
    By jzampardi in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-05-14, 06:42 PM
  4. Dynamic Block lookup table
    By mvillamorel in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-07-14, 09:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •