Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: uploading blocks to the web

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default uploading blocks to the web

    Looking for procedures or pointers in adding symbol libraries onto the company web site for several users in different locations to access.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,341
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by cody.huston
    Looking for procedures or pointers in adding symbol libraries onto the company web site for several users in different locations to access.
    That's a good question. I'm sure there's probably various ways to accomplish something like this.

    Do you already have a website (intranet or internet?) where files are shared, or is this something that would be created just for this purpose?

    are you planning on having one file containing an entire library, or each part/block as it's own file to be downloaded as-needed?

    Are these various locations under the same management?

    There's a thread over in the Autodesk groups that might interest you... adding content to design center online.

    sharing whatever files I do here is either done via email for the guys in my facility, or via our collaboration website (used to be buzzsaw, now it's something else) for our contractors and corporate entities.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Wanderer,

    Yes we already have a website that we all access for time sheets and etc. a share-point website.

    Each block will be an individual file.

    All locations are under the same management

  4. #4
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,341
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by cody.huston
    Wanderer,

    Yes we already have a website that we all access for time sheets and etc. a share-point website.

    Each block will be an individual file.

    All locations are under the same management
    hmm, perhaps you'd like to look at something like iDrop?

    from acad help:
    i-drop is a drag-and-drop method of inserting content from the Web into your current drawing. Using i-drop, you can easily insert content such as drawings and catalog items into an open drawing. Specific examples of i-drop content that you can insert include a block of a chair or window or a bitmap of a linoleum sample.
    You can use the Publish to Web wizard to create a web page that has i-drop-enabled content for a drawing file. For details about other ways to create a web page that has i-drop content, see the information about i-drop on the Autodesk website
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  5. #5
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,483
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: uploading blocks to the web

    The i-drop technology will not work with Firefox due to it being an activeX application.

    But I could be wrong since I haven't learned the technology yet.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by richardl.25628
    The i-drop technology will not work with Firefox due to it being an activeX application.

    But I could be wrong since I haven't learned the technology yet.
    You are correct.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  7. #7
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,483
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by Glenndp
    You are correct.
    Can we put that on the calendar?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  8. #8
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,341
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by richardl.25628
    Can we put that on the calendar?
    That's like twice in one year...

    It seems that I have read somewhere that IE will be reworking their specs to meet some sort of standard with the next version, then it seems that all IE-specific technology will have to be re-worked and upgraded to comply at that point.
    erm... I'm sure mp will chime in here and tell me if I've got that bit right?
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer
    That's like twice in one year...

    It seems that I have read somewhere that IE will be reworking their specs to meet some sort of standard with the next version, then it seems that all IE-specific technology will have to be re-worked and upgraded to comply at that point.
    erm... I'm sure mp will chime in here and tell me if I've got that bit right?
    When did Micros**t ever adopt a "standard" standard and not alter it?
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  10. #10
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,483
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: uploading blocks to the web

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer
    That's like twice in one year...

    It seems that I have read somewhere that IE will be reworking their specs to meet some sort of standard with the next version, then it seems that all IE-specific technology will have to be re-worked and upgraded to comply at that point.
    erm... I'm sure mp will chime in here and tell me if I've got that bit right?
    I know I must be getting better.

    That would be a nice thing of for IE to be compliant.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Uploading attachments
    By Opie in forum Forum Tips & Tricks (Read only)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-10-16, 02:15 PM
  2. Uploading problem
    By Depeshrai in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-12-16, 01:57 PM
  3. Uploading to RUGI
    By adegnan in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-04-22, 12:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •