Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Design Options: Option Set the only way...?

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    93
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default

    If I want to share / reference a hosted model component with multiple design options, my understanding is you have to make it an option set? What if I don't want to make another physical copy, what if I just want a pure reference? Is this possible?

    It would be nice if we could reference other design option sets within an option.

    Thanks for any ideas ahead of time!

  2. #2
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Design Options: Option Set the only way...?

    I'm not understanding your question. The way design options work is as follows.

    1. activate design options
    2. select the objects you want to have diff. options of or create new objects while editing the option
    3. under view visibility specify which option is visible per view.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  3. #3
    Autodesk Revit Client Support Manager slb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    107
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Design Options: Option Set the only way...?

    If you want to make a door or a window (or other hosted object) an option in a project, you will also need to include the host. So ultimately you will need a copy of the host in each option.

    Revit will automatically create the copies in the Option Set if it is added by selecting the object, selecting "Add to Design Option Set" tool and selecting the set to which to add the host.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    93
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Design Options: Option Set the only way...?

    Hi Steve,
    Let me pose the question a different way. How do you make the decision of whether or not to convert objects into an Option Set? If I am creating a house plan and some of the basement walls for the base design are common for all Design Options (side additions, etc.), how do I control the visibility of the model, annotation, and callouts to address house elevations and sections?

    Philosophically, I don't understand why a physical copy of something is required for Design Option Sets? Why can't I have nested Design Option Sets?
    John Herridge, AIA

    Quote Originally Posted by slb
    If you want to make a door or a window (or other hosted object) an option in a project, you will also need to include the host. So ultimately you will need a copy of the host in each option.

    Revit will automatically create the copies in the Option Set if it is added by selecting the object, selecting "Add to Design Option Set" tool and selecting the set to which to add the host.

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict aggockel50321's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Waterville, Maine
    Posts
    1,748
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Design Options: Option Set the only way...?

    The way design options seem to work, is that once objects are selected to be included in the option, they are taken out of the main model & stored within the option. Thus, you have to have these existing objects in each design option.

    Once an option is chosen, & you press the "Accept Primary" button, all the objects in the primary option are re-written back into the main model, and the other options are discarded.

    When setting up your options, I find it helps to have one option called existing, so if you decide to accept none of the options, you can make it primary & accept it.

    Adding phasing to these makes it even more fun, but works great.

Similar Threads

  1. design option tree (dependent design sub options)
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-11-14, 04:26 AM
  2. Design Options - "Remove From Design Option Set" Button
    By gmcguyre in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-09-16, 10:31 PM
  3. Design process: Design options and Worksets.
    By ron.sanpedro in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-09-11, 08:44 PM
  4. Design options/option sets
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-11-14, 05:43 PM
  5. Copying elements>Design Option to Design Option
    By zanzibarbob7 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-05-17, 03:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •