See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

  1. #1
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    What happens with Dynamic Blocks when saving down to an older version (say, you save your drawing as a 2000 file). Do the dynamic blocks:

    1) revert to plain, old, regular blocks?
    2) remain as dynamic blocks and retain all properties? (doubtful)
    3) explode and become individual lines & plines?
    4) disappear as older versions of CAD do not recognize the new Block format?

    Anyone tried this before and experienced the results? I haven't yet, but it appears I am going to very soon. So I figured I'd get some input and knowledge before I do it.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  2. #2
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    What happens with Dynamic Blocks when saving down to an older version (say, you save your drawing as a 2000 file). Do the dynamic blocks:

    1) revert to plain, old, regular blocks?
    2) remain as dynamic blocks and retain all properties? (doubtful)
    3) explode and become individual lines & plines?
    4) disappear as older versions of CAD do not recognize the new Block format?

    Anyone tried this before and experienced the results? I haven't yet, but it appears I am going to very soon. So I figured I'd get some input and knowledge before I do it.

    My experience (limited) has shown that they save as regular blocks with whatever visibility states you have set at the time of saving.

  3. #3
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    .... one time at Cad Camp....
    it was a question that was brought up, and as long as the 'earlier' version doesn't explode it (it's the only way they can manipulate it), it should still retain all dynamic properties when brought back to 2006. haven't tested it personally tho.
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict Augi Doggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    Orlando, FL.
    Posts
    1,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by brenda.richardson
    My experience (limited) has shown that they save as regular blocks with whatever visibility states you have set at the time of saving.
    Your (limited) experience is right on the money! The dynamic block will become a regular block with the current properties made permanent. Also, if you bring it back into 2006 it will no longer behave as a dynamic block.

  5. #5
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by kleary
    Your (limited) experience is right on the money! The dynamic block will become a regular block with the current properties made permanent. Also, if you bring it back into 2006 it will no longer behave as a dynamic block.
    Thanks!! good to know, but a bummer just the same...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    OK Cool. You guys are a waelth of knowledge. Now for the MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION .... (OK, you don't really get a million dollars if you answer it)

    Dynamic Blocks and LT CAD ...... compatible or not? In other words, if I create a DB with my 2006 CAD, can LT Users modify them?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  7. #7
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,082
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    OK Cool. You guys are a waelth of knowledge. Now for the MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION .... (OK, you don't really get a million dollars if you answer it)

    Dynamic Blocks and LT CAD ...... compatible or not? In other words, if I create a DB with my 2006 CAD, can LT Users modify them?
    I believe they will be able to use them, just not be able to create them from scratch. But you could always try it out and let us know what you get.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  8. #8
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard.Lawrence
    I believe they will be able to use them, just not be able to create them from scratch. But you could always try it out and let us know what you get.
    you want ME to do the work?

    i'll post shortly and report findings.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  9. #9
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,082
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    you want ME to do the work?

    i'll post shortly and report findings.
    At least I won't have too

  10. #10
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CAD Trivia - Dynamic Blocks and older verisons of CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    OK Cool. You guys are a waelth of knowledge. Now for the MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION .... (OK, you don't really get a million dollars if you answer it)

    Dynamic Blocks and LT CAD ...... compatible or not? In other words, if I create a DB with my 2006 CAD, can LT Users modify them?
    LT? what's that?
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Blocks - Creating dynamic bolt blocks
    By jake1889 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-08-08, 12:56 PM
  2. GD12-3: Go Dynamic: How to Create Dynamic Blocks in AutoCAD 2006
    By Autodesk University in forum General Design
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-17, 04:17 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-23, 03:50 PM
  4. Dynamic blocks renamed in older versions
    By darthyoga in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-05-03, 05:36 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-02-10, 04:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •