See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    Hi - I am trying to project a new Base Flood Elevation on an existing ground surface. What I have is the eg surface and 4 points of known BFE. What I need is an interpolated 3D line using these 4 points to show where the BFE line would fall on the existing ground. I keep thinking the answer should be right in front of me, but all I've been doing is banging my head against the wall. Any help would be appreciated. (LDD, Civil, Survey 2005)

    Thanks - Judy

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to dfarris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    where ever i'm at
    Posts
    252
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    The answer is just under your nose

    Terrain > 3d poly > by elevation >

    From point (or Entity): *select first point*
    Starting elevation (or Dtm) <0>: D
    *select surface*


    You should be able to figure it out from there.

    Hope this helps.
    Have one on me.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    That still only gives me a line between the 4 known points - I want to interpolate btween those points based upon the existing ground dtm - in other words, it's not a straight shot between the points - the BFE line (which varies in elevation) meanders around based on the elevation of the existing ground. This shouldn't be this difficult, so I'm either making it much harder than it is or...

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to dfarris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    where ever i'm at
    Posts
    252
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    Points >
    Create Points - Surface >
    Along Polyline/Contour >
    Distance between points <15>: (enter desired distance)

  5. #5
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,429
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    Create a surface with those four points, then create a volume surface using your BFE surface and existing surface, then create your daylight line between the two.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Ammon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    423
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    Quote Originally Posted by jrosenbaum
    That still only gives me a line between the 4 known points - I want to interpolate btween those points based upon the existing ground dtm - in other words, it's not a straight shot between the points - the BFE line (which varies in elevation) meanders around based on the elevation of the existing ground. This shouldn't be this difficult, so I'm either making it much harder than it is or...
    If I am understanding you correctly, you want to create a line on the EG, similar to a contour that identifies where the BFE is.

    If you create a 3D polyline as described above for the four points, you should be able to use your grading menu to create a "daylight." I don't have a lot of experience with this, but I'm sure there are those that do, if you need further instruction.

  7. #7
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,429
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    The quickest way that I have found to create the Daylight PLINE is to follow the steps in my previous post to create your Volume surface, then set that surface current, and create contours for that surface, only you want to change the contour interval to 20 or 30 (Make this number larger than the variations in your elevations for the area in question) for your Major and only draw the Major contours. You should get one continuous polyline that defines your BFE and maybe a couple little ones inside your area. You can erase those and you have your Flood Area defined.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    Thanks for the help - i haven't had a chance to work any further on it; I've been swamped trting to finish other projects up before I leave on vacation (wa-hoo!). I'll give it a go when I return. Thanks again - i never would have figured this one out.

  9. #9
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2009-05
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Smile Re: Incorporating 3D polyline into an existing surface

    In Civil 3D. Have your original surface. Then use the cross-section lines of the BFE and set them to the BFE elevation. Making sure the lines go all the way accross the stream and past the BFE at that location. Use these cross-section lines that are set to the BFE to create a surface. Now create a Volume surface from these two. Once you do this display the volume surface with contours. Contour 0 will be your BFE line. Then simply go under suface-Utilites-Extract Object from Surface and click on the contour 0 line. Now you have a polyline that is your BFE line. MAGIC!

Similar Threads

  1. 3D Polyline Along a Surface
    By IanR in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-11-14, 02:23 PM
  2. Created Surface from polyline contours
    By Tom.Weinstein.137333 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2012-10-26, 02:15 PM
  3. 3D polyline at grade on a surface
    By mhirst in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Grading
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-08-06, 09:25 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-05-20, 08:50 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-11-14, 07:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •