Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AutoCAD versus Microstation

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question AutoCAD versus Microstation

    We are using AutoCAD 2006 on a pursuit job, one of the team member is using Microstation.
    Also at the end, all drawings have to be submit in Microstation V8.
    I don't know about Microstation.
    It is an easy conversion?
    What is involve?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,517
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD versus Microstation

    I don't use Microstation, but what I have heard is Microstation can open dwg files. Therefore, I don't think the conversion is too difficult.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Maverick91's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,324
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD versus Microstation

    Quote Originally Posted by brtremblay
    We are using AutoCAD 2006 on a pursuit job, one of the team member is using Microstation.
    Also at the end, all drawings have to be submit in Microstation V8.
    I don't know about Microstation.
    It is an easy conversion?
    What is involve?
    It's true that Microstation will open and save to a .dwg file format. However, the two products approach many things differently. Level and layers work differently, colors and lineweights are different. When a file is converted from one to the other, the text format does strange things.

    One of our major clients is all Microstation. Fortunately, our project there has concluded.
    Autodesk Civil3D 2018, Revit 2018
    Gig 'Em, Aggies!

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,788
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD versus Microstation

    Quote Originally Posted by brtremblay
    We are using AutoCAD 2006 on a pursuit job, one of the team member is using Microstation.
    Also at the end, all drawings have to be submit in Microstation V8.
    I don't know about Microstation.
    It is an easy conversion?
    What is involve?
    I agree with Maverick. Do the work in the product that will create the required files. I'm surprised this is still an issue nowdays. Many clients recognize the conversion problems and require the use of a certain product. (i.e. Microstation to produce DGN files)
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Blue Springs, Mo.
    Posts
    117
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD versus Microstation

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    I agree with Maverick. Do the work in the product that will create the required files. I'm surprised this is still an issue nowdays. Many clients recognize the conversion problems and require the use of a certain product. (i.e. Microstation to produce DGN files)

    I do agree with Doug & RK McSwaim. Do your all your work in MS if at all possible. V8 can convert your layers to levels without losing anything. V8 uses names for it levels.It also keeps your drawing as is after the conversion. This will work as long as you are doing straight AutoCAD work with no verticals products.

  6. #6
    100 Club charlie.bauer341340's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-05
    Location
    Here, because I'm not all there
    Posts
    141
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD versus Microstation

    I suggest you keep the two programs separate until the end. The differences make collaboration difficult. If you can make one translation at the end of the project your life will be a lot easier.

    Good Luck
    Charlie

Similar Threads

  1. Revit versus AutoCad
    By guyc64 in forum Revit Architecture - Général
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-01-25, 07:52 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-09-11, 05:29 PM
  3. autocad versus revit
    By devestritious209 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-18, 07:13 PM
  4. VB6 versus Autocad LT
    By hibbe.wiersma172517 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-10-01, 07:57 PM
  5. ADT versus AutoCAD
    By jasontirone in forum ACA General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-01-25, 12:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •