See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Receiving drawings from architect...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Receiving drawings from architect...

    I'm having problems with drawings received from an architect, when they come in, our linework that went to them (curbs ect. that they used to align their building) will not join or intersect when it comes back. We've tried about everything from p-edit to drawing clean-up and the only thing that works is erasing the line and re-drawing it. The problem occurs only with lines (curves are fine?)
    Has anyone else encountered this problem?

    Thanks,
    -Joe Williams

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Ammon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    423
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    Quote Originally Posted by jwilliams.67235
    I'm having problems with drawings received from an architect, when they come in, our linework that went to them (curbs ect. that they used to align their building) will not join or intersect when it comes back. We've tried about everything from p-edit to drawing clean-up and the only thing that works is erasing the line and re-drawing it. The problem occurs only with lines (curves are fine?)
    Has anyone else encountered this problem?

    Thanks,
    -Joe Williams
    Um... refuse to work with architects. They always screw up drawings here as well. j/k

  3. #3
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,431
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    Make your drawing into a block before you sen it to them, then when you get it back, delete your layers and reinsert the block. Since it is your data, they should NOT be modifying it. Or better yet, Just xref your data into the file or vice versa. xref their file into yours AFTER you delete your linework from the drawing they return
    Last edited by MHultgren; 2005-11-29 at 02:19 PM. Reason: clarification on which file to clean up.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to dfarris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    where ever i'm at
    Posts
    252
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    Good idea. Or you could just threaten them.
    There wouldn't be any compatibility issues between yours and theirs versions of Acad that may cause this issue would there?

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Hammer.John.J's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Location
    Springfield, MA
    Posts
    487
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    we deal with several arch and we never actually use their work perse. we redraft their work to get what we need from them and insert our linework into our drawings, because of the platform issues and aec object problems. easiest and highest quality because you know your stuff isn't modified in your drawings that you insert their redrafted work into.

    avoid using Adt linework etc.

  6. #6
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,431
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    Another approach is to take thier drawing, explode everything in it that they did then do a Save-As R12 dxf. Then use Map to query in the linework you need into your Arch Base dwg. This works if you have the AECOBJEXPLODE.dll that allows you to explode the ADT Objects into text, lines and arcs.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to andy.manninen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    @ _ork
    Posts
    304
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    Usually what we do with any DWG's from others is explode it into lines and arcs, convert all text into our L100, change layers to our layers and copy the linework we need into a blank dwg. From there you can purge and audit the dwg to make sure all architectural junk is out. lastly we copy the cleaned linework into our base DWG's. This makes sure you don't bring in any dim styles, text styles, etc etc. Always remember to purge out as much as you can, and to check the items you can't purge, because that will tell you what is still being used in the drawing!
    Andrew Manninen
    CAD Manager

    The man who smiles when things go wrong has thought of someone to blame it on. - Robert Bloch

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to Hammer.John.J's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Location
    Springfield, MA
    Posts
    487
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Receiving drawings from architect...

    more or less the 3 of us doing the same.

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: When receiving an architectural model...
    By colmag6 in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-12-07, 07:46 PM
  2. New Titleblock, but receiving an error (pics attached)
    By stykface in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-10-13, 03:19 PM
  3. trouble with windows receiving custom profile
    By jrobelia in forum ACA General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2005-08-23, 07:32 PM
  4. Receiving Error while using text mask
    By justin.d.ehart in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-14, 08:36 PM
  5. Receiving of serial number for R6
    By Gerhard in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-01-20, 11:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •