Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-05
    Posts
    39
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline

    I am after converting an arc to a line or polyline. I thought I could dxf out the and dxf back in to do this, however, when I dxf in I am still stuck with an arc.

    A search of the forums tells me that Arc is too short or too common a phrase to search on.

    Is anyone able to assist? please..

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-05
    Posts
    39
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline

    Done it. Thanks anyway.

    Moved my coordinate system to the object and used MPEDIT, an express tools tool

  3. #3
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,362
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by nigel.chesworth
    Done it. Thanks anyway.

    Moved my coordinate system to the object and used MPEDIT, an express tools tool
    thanks for posting back your solution, I'm sure someone will be able to benefit from this.

    A tip on searching for 3 letter words it so bracket with asterisks... *arc*
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline

    Hi Nigel

    To go with the information Melanie posted above, you may find the following of some interest ( comes via the Forum Tips & Tricks forum )...

    Forum Searches using short words and abbreviations

    Mike

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by nigel.chesworth
    Done it. Thanks anyway.

    Moved my coordinate system to the object and used MPEDIT, an express tools tool
    If you just want to convert an arc to a polyline, there's no need to adjust any coordinate systems. Just convert the arc.

    In addition to MPEDIT, you can also just use the PEDIT command. If you select a line or an arc, PEDIT will ask you if you want to convert it to a polyline. You can set PEDITACCEPT to 1, and it will suppress this question, and cause the command to always automatically convert lines and arcs to polylines without asking you first.

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Survey Figure and Feature Line to 2D Polyline
    By civil3d.wishlist1941 in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2019-03-26, 08:52 PM
  2. Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline
    By zoomharis in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2016-05-29, 09:21 PM
  3. Convert to Polyline
    By BILLYJOW in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-12-26, 03:33 PM
  4. Convert polyline to Arc
    By whittendesigns in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-02-25, 12:13 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-06-29, 09:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •