Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Manageability of Civil Coutour Objects

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Manageability of Civil Coutour Objects

    Hello,

    I despise working with Civil Contour objects due to the fact that they do not have the 'editability' that 2D or 3D polylines has. It would be nice to have the ability to add verticies to a civil contour object. Many times during the course of a project, contours get revised. What ends up happening is the contour being modified get a section brocken out of it and redrafted leaving that contour in several segments. It would also be great if you could join seperate (segmental) contour lines together. There just needs to be more editability functions available. Until then, I refuse to use civil contour objects. 2d polylines work nice and you do not have to deal with the headaches of trying to get your contour object finessed easily.

    Thanks,
    348patterson

  2. #2
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Blue Springs, Mo.
    Posts
    117
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Manageability of Civil Coutour Objects

    Are these your contours or did you get them from someone else? If they are yours just use the create from polyline routine. If they are not your contours. To help with your problem, all you need to do is explode the contour then it becomes a 3D polyline. Then you can edit it much easier.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to Ammon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    423
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Manageability of Civil Coutour Objects

    Quote Originally Posted by 348PATTERSON
    Hello,

    I despise working with Civil Contour objects due to the fact that they do not have the 'editability' that 2D or 3D polylines has. It would be nice to have the ability to add verticies to a civil contour object. Many times during the course of a project, contours get revised. What ends up happening is the contour being modified get a section brocken out of it and redrafted leaving that contour in several segments. It would also be great if you could join seperate (segmental) contour lines together. There just needs to be more editability functions available. Until then, I refuse to use civil contour objects. 2d polylines work nice and you do not have to deal with the headaches of trying to get your contour object finessed easily.

    Thanks,
    348patterson
    I agree that Civil Contour objects need to have increased editability. You, at the very least, need to be able to join them together and add vertices, like you said. However, I wouldn't shoot yourself in the foot by refusing to use them. They do have advantages over 2D polylines. Labeling is the main reason I like to use them. The labels are repositionable and also can be set to always be plan readable, so that if in paper space and you have the same contour visible in two viewports, and one viewport would show the label upside down if it were just plain text, will flip and show plan readable in both viewports. You can also adjust the smoothness of the contours. We all know that contours do not take sharp angular turns. I use the "add vertices" function in the contour style to make them more curvalinear. You can't adjust that with a 2d polyline.

  4. #4
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,431
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Manageability of Civil Coutour Objects

    I would like to see the ability to make certain vertices come out at sharp angles by selecting the curve. We use a true V Ditch here which does have a sharp point in the contour, as does a curb and gutter intersection. I usually use Countour Objects to get my basic layout, then explode them to Plines and edit the vertices I need to be sharp as needed. Once I have the Objects converted though, I will weed out most of the vertices before I attempt to modify the Plines.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

Similar Threads

  1. Hover commands on civil 3d objects
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-06-30, 10:23 AM
  2. 2012: Wall sweeps manageability
    By barrie.sharp in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-08-08, 01:47 PM
  3. Civil 3D Objects not displaying correctly in Civil 3D 2008
    By xstat21x in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-10, 01:36 PM
  4. Civil Point Objects
    By 348PATTERSON in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-08, 01:44 PM
  5. Civil 3D objects
    By hingles in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - Wish List
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-02-21, 03:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •