Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    I have a situation in which I tried to trim a line back to a line that I thought was attached perpendicularly to my line that I was trying to trim. It would not and when I zoomed in I can see that the line I was trying to trim back to was actually a very short distance away from the line I was trying to trim. When I try to extend the perpendicualr line to the line I am trying to trim, it goes THROUGH the line and extends to another line on the drawing.

    Is there a system variable that needs to be modified?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    Quote Originally Posted by mhudson
    I have a situation in which I tried to trim a line back to a line that I thought was attached perpendicularly to my line that I was trying to trim. It would not and when I zoomed in I can see that the line I was trying to trim back to was actually a very short distance away from the line I was trying to trim. When I try to extend the perpendicualr line to the line I am trying to trim, it goes THROUGH the line and extends to another line on the drawing.

    Is there a system variable that needs to be modified?
    Are the two lines at the same elevation?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    yes - that was one of the first things I checked.

    I believe there is system variable that is similar to a 'gap tolerance' - not the one associated to hatching, but one that is associated to this particular situation.

    Thanks for you reply.

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    Quote Originally Posted by mhudson
    yes - that was one of the first things I checked.

    I believe there is system variable that is similar to a 'gap tolerance' - not the one associated to hatching, but one that is associated to this particular situation.

    Thanks for you reply.
    Which version are you using?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    AutoCAD 2006

  6. #6
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    Quote Originally Posted by mhudson
    AutoCAD 2006
    Have you tried the Project and/or Edge methods of the trim command?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    I used the Edge method to get around the problem. I don't mind the workaround, but I've had others in the office complain of the same ocuurence and I have been trying to find the origination of the problem.

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    Quote Originally Posted by mhudson
    I used the Edge method to get around the problem. I don't mind the workaround, but I've had others in the office complain of the same ocuurence and I have been trying to find the origination of the problem.
    Forgive me but I am just trying to verify. You did say the two entities were at the same elevation. Do either one have a differing elevation on one end?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    Z value is 0" at all points.

  10. #10
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: line extends THROUGH line to another line in the drawing

    Okay, I was just checking. I'm still stumped as to why it happens. I have had it happen to me before, but it was due to having differing z coordinates.

    I am glad you found a work-around anyway. Maybe someone else can point you to the proper solution.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2010: making all line segmentsof same line type show as one line segment
    By Darren Allen in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2015-09-02, 10:35 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-11-15, 03:50 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-07-13, 09:04 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-06-27, 09:09 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-06-01, 04:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •