See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Sync Menu files from server to client

  1. #1
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Sync Menu files from server to client

    Any suggestions on syncronizing files? I want to keep all customization files (for autocad) on the client machine with a master set on the server. Is there a software that can handle doing this? Or would I be better off generating a .exe file to install customization files to the user machine. Some files might be located directly under C:\custom\Content or inside the current user dos & settings appdata folders.

    (I know I could simply keep all files on the server, but this introduces certain issues when deploying autocad to laptops & expecting them to work offline with no connectivity to the server or installs on employees home computers that have no network connectivity. At least this is the case at this particular location.)
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sync Menu files from server to client

    Hi

    Try plugging the following search criteria into the forum search facility...

    Key Word(s): RoboCopy

    Have a good one, Mike

  3. #3
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Sync Menu files from server to client

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Hi

    Try plugging the following search criteria into the forum search facility...

    Key Word(s): RoboCopy

    Have a good one, Mike
    +1

    Thanks bro!
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict Augi Doggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    Orlando, FL.
    Posts
    1,348
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Sync Menu files from server to client

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Hi

    Try plugging the following search criteria into the forum search facility...

    Key Word(s): RoboCopy

    Have a good one, Mike
    Brother Steve, weird De ja vu here. I just suggested today that someone else in the CAD Standards also look this up, try SyncToy and XXcopy as well as the Robocopy.

    I would love for someone to try them out and give us feedback.
    Still trying to find out "Who is a good boy?"

  5. #5
    Active Member Jordan Truesdell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    91
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Sync Menu files from server to client

    Do you need actual synchronization, or just an update to the local machine from the server?

    If all that is necessary is to copy the most current setup from the server to the client, you could set up an xcopy "shortcut" to put in the client start menu, or make it a batch file and run it with the scheduler (if you have people who stay logged in for days/weeks at a time). A batch file might be better, whether its run from the start menu or scheduler - you can put the batch file on the server and just call it from the client. That way you can change it if it needs to be changed. The downside to the remote batch is that the files need to be in the same place on each client.


    I actually need a sync program, but for the time being I'm getting along with xcopy. Here's what I use:

    %windir%\system32\xcopy.exe k:\*.* f:\TEI /d/y/s

    It copies everything from the k:\ drive on the server (persistent map) to my local f:\TEI directory. The options I use are

    /d - copies only files which are newer on the server
    /y - supresses overwrite confirmation
    /s - copies subdirectories (but not empty ones)

    you might like to add
    /e - copies even empty subdirectories
    /k - copies attributes (if you need to make certain files stay read-only on the client)

    go to the command line and type xcopy /? for a full list of switches.

Similar Threads

  1. The Sync of AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 & SQL Server
    By theonlynelly in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-12-28, 03:24 AM
  2. 2012: The Sync of AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 & SQL Server
    By theonlynelly in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-12-26, 11:13 PM
  3. Нужна помощь по настройке Autodesk Vault Server и Client
    By bobrovnikov87 in forum Русский - Документооборот и Управление инженерными данными
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-05-19, 06:34 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-03-04, 08:57 AM
  5. TrueView on Windows Server / Thin Client?
    By dan.singleton in forum DWG TrueView - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-02-09, 08:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •