Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    Birmingham, Alabama, U.S.A
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

    I want to set up a dim. style that will automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension. Can that be done and how do I do it?
    Using ACAD 2000i

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

    Hi

    Please note I have *moved* this thread from the CAD Standards forum to this one as I feel this particular Forum is a more appropriate place for such a topic.

    Thanks, Mike

    Forum Moderator

  3. #3
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

    Hi

    I am not so sure you can ( but then again I am wrong all time )...

    Take a look at the following threads, for some ideas...

    Add text "REF" to dimensions

    Add tolerances to dimensions

    Have a good one, Mike

  4. #4
    100 Club avdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    STL Metro
    Posts
    173
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

    I've always done the good ol' text override to get equal in. One trick I've done is copy a generic dim into my handy Text template drawing text override the dim and then copy it in to a drawing when I needed Equal and then move the grips to fit the area. It's not nice, or automatic but it works.

  5. #5
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

    Quote Originally Posted by pallen
    I want to set up a dim. style that will automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension. Can that be done and how do I do it?
    Using ACAD 2000i
    AFAIK - there is no way to force a dimstyle to not include the measurement itself.

    You could use something like the code below to override the text (adjust the command name as required)

    Code:
    (command "._dimlinear")
    (while (eq 1 (logand (getvar "cmdactive")))
      (command pause)
    )
    (command "._dimedit" "_N" "EQUAL" (entlast) "")
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    100 Club avdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    STL Metro
    Posts
    173
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Automatically show the word "EQUAL" instead of the actual dimension

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    AFAIK - there is no way to force a dimstyle to not include the measurement itself.

    You could use something like the code below to override the text (adjust the command name as required)

    Code:
    (command "._dimlinear")
    (while (eq 1 (logand (getvar "cmdactive")))
      (command pause)
    )
    (command "._dimedit" "_N" "EQUAL" (entlast) "")
    That works too.......
    This might be a good ACAD wish list item 2¢

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-03-11, 12:49 PM
  2. Dimension with the word "ALIGN" only
    By diesellam in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-02-26, 05:36 PM
  3. Dimension with the word "clear" underneath
    By diesellam in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-02-25, 11:50 PM
  4. How to show "last printed" or "path" text in layout
    By cstone in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-11-29, 12:05 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-04-04, 12:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •