Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: CUI file has become invalid. What is the next step?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default CUI file has become invalid. What is the next step?

    I am using acad 2006 I assigned an icon to a command before dragging the command to the toolbar and it seemed to corrupt the cui file. When I try to open the CUI I get a message saying "the cui file you are attempting to open is invalid. Select a different cui file and try again." My toolbars are customized and I don’t want to start again. Any suggestions to correct this?
    CUI NOT WORKING!
    Thanks Ken

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CUI file has become invalid. What is the next step?

    Hi Ken

    Please note I have *moved* this thread from the CAD Mgmt. General forum to this one as I feel this particular Forum is a more appropriate place for such a topic.

    Thanks, Mike

    Forum Moderator

  3. #3
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CUI file has become invalid. What is the next step?

    Hi

    Check out the following Technical Document on the Autodesk web site under the Knowledge Base section...

    ID: TS1052254 - CUI file invalid

    Have a good one, Mike

  4. #4
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CUI file has become invalid. What is the next step?

    Restore a backup. You do have a backup, don't you?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,673
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CUI file has become invalid. What is the next step?

    Agree with Robert.
    I learned early on to back up the CUI before attempting to modify it.

    Now if Autodesk could just integrate the backing up of the CUI before modifying the only copy. ...and maybe a CUIAUDIT command....
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. Invalid DBX file messages when opening a DWG file
    By Richard McDonald in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2014-02-17, 10:05 PM
  2. 2011: Invalid arx file
    By imacad in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-11-22, 06:31 PM
  3. invalid file handle
    By amindez9667 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-11-22, 06:28 PM
  4. foo.ARX is an invalid file.
    By cesar.viudez in forum ARX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-07-02, 02:19 PM
  5. invalid file ...
    By moshira_hassan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-05-03, 07:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •