Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Linked cad drawings not exporting back to cad

  1. #1
    Member mfanucs's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    South Africa - Johannesburg
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Linked cad drawings not exporting back to cad

    Hi all

    I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this problem - couldn't seem to find anything in the previous threads.

    We are working on a large retail development with a massive parking area - rather than trying to model the extremely large surface parking area we have drawn all the site info (parking, kerbs, paving, services, etc.) in a linked cad drawing. The drawing was linked into 'current view only' and then copied and pasted into other relevant views

    So far this method is working well for us - until we recently tried exporting some drawings back to cad and the linked cad file shows up as a missing xref only - which we can't seem to get working.

    We have tried importing the cad drawing as 'model' lines, but the export still doesn't work

    any ideas would be extremely welcome!!!!

    Marco

  2. #2
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linked cad drawings not exporting back to cad

    I'm not sure why its not working, a linked dwgs becomes an xref when exported to autocad. So you should be able to bind that xref if you need it as one file.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  3. #3
    Member mfanucs's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    South Africa - Johannesburg
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Linked cad drawings not exporting back to cad

    whoops - looks like another ID 10 T problem - a bit of a mix up on our side.

    its seems as if someone (hopefully not me!!) has linked the same drawing in twice from two separate file locations - effectively resulting in the same drawing name appearing in the database twice - and it seems Revit doesn't like the identical names.

    i suppose it was an honest mistake - our office finally moved over to a server mid-way in the project - and this is probably where the mistake happened.

    we're deleting all instances of the site plan and starting fresh.

Similar Threads

  1. Exporting a list of drawings
    By pauljordan in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2011-06-30, 04:16 PM
  2. Exporting final drawings to ASD
    By Devil in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-09-29, 05:44 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-12, 11:40 AM
  4. Linked RVT not exporting
    By modulor in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-11, 02:13 AM
  5. Exporting to DWG with a linked DWG?
    By tjk0225 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-08-04, 09:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •