Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    AutoCAD 2005

    It must be Monday. Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another?

    Example:
    File A
    Visretain: 1
    Has File B xref'd into it as either an overlay or attachment (doesn't seem to matter).

    Layer Name: File B|Slab
    State: Frozen

    File B
    Layer Name: Slab
    State: Thawed

    File C
    Has File A xref'd into it as either an overlay or attachment.
    Visretain: 0

    Shouldn't layer Slab still be frozen in File C since it's frozen in File B?

    I've audited and purged everything to death....

    Thanks for your help,

    Corey

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    Quote Originally Posted by cgerhardt
    AutoCAD 2005

    It must be Monday. Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another?

    <SNIP>
    Hi

    Take a look at the following...

    RE: Layer states - can we save the states out ?

    Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another?

    Have a good one, Mike

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    But with visretain set to zero (0), shouldn't a change to layer state in an xref be reflected with the xref is reloaded?

    I'm trying to work around not saving layer states if there are the same in both drawings. So if I change a layer's linetype in the source drawing, the destination file when reloaded will reflect the new linetype. I was hoping this would work with visretain set to zero.
    Last edited by cgerhardt; 2006-04-04 at 03:55 PM.

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    Quote Originally Posted by cgerhardt
    But with visretain set to zero (0), shouldn't a change to layer state in an xref be reflected with the xref is reloaded?
    Hi

    Just checking here...

    Do you mean Layer State(s).
    OR
    Layer properties.

    The above are two very different things.

    If you mean Layer properties, then yes with VisRetain set to 0 ( zero ), Layer properties that change within the actual Xref file should be seen when the Xref in question is Reloaded.

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    I guess I'm asking two questions here regarding:
    - Layer's properties such as linetype
    - Layer's state such as frozen.

    According to the help file visretain controls:
    "Controls the visibility, color, linetype, lineweight, and plot styles"

    Would the AutoCad 2005 service pack fix this problem?

  6. #6
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,799
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    Quote Originally Posted by cgerhardt
    AutoCAD 2005

    It must be Monday. Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another?

    Example:
    File A
    Visretain: 1
    Has File B xref'd into it as either an overlay or attachment (doesn't seem to matter).

    Layer Name: File B|Slab
    State: Frozen

    File B
    Layer Name: Slab
    State: Thawed

    File C
    Has File A xref'd into it as either an overlay or attachment.
    Visretain: 0

    Shouldn't layer Slab still be frozen in File C since it's frozen in File B?

    I've audited and purged everything to death....

    Thanks for your help,

    Corey
    No. The state would be from the original drawing and not the reference to the original drawing.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    Hmm, for some reason I hoped any layer property changes would filter through the xref chain.

    Therefore visretain only effects the current drawing.

    So if A in xref'd into B and B is xref'd into C, any layer changes of A in B are not transfered to C. A in C will look like the original A and not the A in B.

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,799
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    That is how I understand it.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2005 - Shouldn't layers states transfer from one file to another

    Quote Originally Posted by cgerhardt
    Hmm, for some reason I hoped any layer property changes would filter through the xref chain.

    Therefore visretain only effects the current drawing.

    So if A in xref'd into B and B is xref'd into C, any layer changes of A in B are not transfered to C. A in C will look like the original A and not the A in B.
    C will load both A and B as individual Xrefs, even though A only exists as an XREF in B.

Similar Threads

  1. Lisp para Gerir Layers - AutoCAD 2004 2005 2006 2007...
    By Brogueira-CADptbr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-07-14, 03:36 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-02-07, 07:43 PM
  3. AutoCAD 2005 - 14 Meg file should only be 800K
    By egoss in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 2007-02-07, 12:20 PM
  4. AutoCAD 2005 - How to transfer tool palette groups
    By Buffeldrek in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-08, 09:05 AM
  5. File open problem, AutoCAD 2005
    By baejinsu in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-02-02, 07:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •