Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Improve Rendering performance in AutoCAD 2006

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Improve Rendering performance in AutoCAD 2006

    I am currently trying to render a building in ACAD 2006 using several solids. We are designing the cable tray layouts using a 3-d model of the architectural drawings. We are having a problem getting the drawings to render with all of the layers turned on. (walls, windows, ductwork, piping, etc.) ACAD 2006 takes well over a half hour to completely render the drawing and then only displays portions of the layouts. Any ideas as to how we get ACAD to speed up the rendering and to completely display it? (we are using a PC with Windows XP Pro, 1.5 GB's of RAM, 256 MB PCI video card, 100 GB HD, ACAD 2006). We are in the process of upgrading to ACAD 2007.....any known improvements in the rendering areas?

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Improve Rendering performance in AutoCAD 2006

    RAM, processor speed, RAM, hard drive speed and RAM affect rendering times. The graphics card is irrelevant during rendering.

    Do you actually need a rendered image? Would a shaded view do instead?
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Improve Rendering performance in AutoCAD 2006

    I think we may be able to get by with a shaded image. Thanks for the info. I had suggested additional RAM and a faster hard drive to our employer, which fell on deaf ears. It's good to read that somebody out there agrees with me.

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Improve Rendering performance in AutoCAD 2006

    Hi "rflores.74287" ( Sorry, I do not know your real name )

    Please note I have *moved* this thread from the AutoCAD General forum to this one, as I feel this particular forum is a more appropriate place for such a topic.

    Thanks, Mike

    Forum Moderator

  5. #5
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Improve Rendering performance in AutoCAD 2006

    Quote Originally Posted by rflores.74287
    <SNIP> (we are using a PC with Windows XP Pro, 1.5 GB's of RAM, 256 MB PCI video card, 100 GB HD, ACAD 2006). We are in the process of upgrading to ACAD 2007.....any known improvements in the rendering areas?
    Hi

    The link found in the following post, might prove to be of some interest to yourself...

    RE: The hardware connection - processors and graphic boards

    Have a good one, Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Improve Performance of Sheet Sets
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-06-20, 05:57 PM
  2. How to improve family performance?
    By DoTheBIM in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-01-10, 07:51 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-01-16, 03:02 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2005-12-16, 07:19 PM
  5. Important info to help improve Revit's performance
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-06-01, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •