Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

  1. #1
    Member dandan_2's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    26
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Once a file has been opened in 2007 and saved back to 2004 file format, you can no longer open the file in ADT 2005/2006 and insert blocks or dim styles from Design Center. We get the following error:

    This application has detected a mixed version of AEC objects participating in this operation. Newer AEC objects will be disallowed from participating in this operation

    If you answer “OK” ADT 2005/2006 will just hang forever.

    If you open the same Drawings in ADT 2007, you can insert away.
    The drawing file that we are pulling blocks and dimensions from is in 2004 format.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Dan

  2. #2
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,724
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Quote Originally Posted by dandan_2
    Once a file has been opened in 2007 and saved back to 2004 file format, you can no longer open the file in ADT 2005/2006 and insert blocks or dim styles from Design Center. We get the following error:

    This application has detected a mixed version of AEC objects participating in this operation. Newer AEC objects will be disallowed from participating in this operation

    If you answer “OK” ADT 2005/2006 will just hang forever.

    If you open the same Drawings in ADT 2007, you can insert away.
    The drawing file that we are pulling blocks and dimensions from is in 2004 format.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Dan
    Don't do that. Until you are certain your office will be running fully on the 2007 platform, make copies of production drawings for testing. In the meantime, I will ask around about this error & if I have time I will try it myself. Once you've saved the file down to 2004 format, have you run a repair on the file using ADT with file version 2004? What are you trying to accomplish by going back & forth between versions?
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  3. #3
    Member dandan_2's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    26
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Steve,

    We have a lot of consultants and clients that require the files in 2004 or even still 2000 format. (you have to love our government ) So we were testing to see there were any issues with working in a mixed environment. I have recreated this error now on 4 computers in three different sheets. It happens in ADT or Autocad 2005 and 2006 once the file has been opened in 2007.

    I have stopped the deployment of 2007 products until I can figure out a solution.

    Repair, Audit & Purge have no effect.

    Thanks,
    Dan

  4. #4
    Administrator richard.binning's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    In the foothills of the appalachians
    Posts
    2,260
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Any time we are dealing with File Format changes such as from ADT3.3 to ADT2004 and now from ADT2004(2005,2006) to ADT2007 you will run into versioning problems. If you want to share drawings with firms on 2004 you will have to do so without the benefit of AEC objects. You can export to AutoCAD 2004, which will result in the explosion of your "intelligent" objects. But the recipient will be able to use the drawings without getting the error you describe. Just segregate the files that have to be "dumbed" down and always keep using and editing the 2007 "intelligent" drawings in-house.

    RLB

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Beth Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    355
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    This is absolutely a problem. Autodesk has some hotfixes that I just posted in my blog that actually make it worse. My phone is ringing off the hook with customers that hurried up and installed it as soon as it arrived and have corrupted drawings. I'm advising everyone else to please not install any 2007 products right now.

    Opening in another version or vertical product makes no difference. Once you use the hotfix it appears to replace a wall for instance with AEC Wall as a word. Proxy graphics settings have no effect even though that is what Adesk support is giving for the answer.

    Watch out!

  6. #6
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,724
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Here's a Thread on the Autodesk Discussion groups which adds a little more light to the subject.

    http://discussion.autodesk.com/threa...hreadID=467043

    Do you have proxy objects enabled in ADT 2005?
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to Beth Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    355
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Steve,

    I had a "heck" of a day yesterday. All I did was answer phone calls and emails from the same circle of three people all day with 2007 issues.

    Proxy objects is set for all versions and all users. I always recommend that and know it to be the case. I think the hotfix is what screwed it up, but today is another day and we'll see what it will be like.

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Administrator richard.binning's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    In the foothills of the appalachians
    Posts
    2,260
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    This is the way it always is with "file format" changes. Any save to an earlier release requires proxy objects to be turned on. With proxy objects turned on, your file sizes will grow as duplicate "dumb object" are placed to represent the "intelligent objects" that won't be displayed correctly. You cannot edit the objects any more, so you might as well "export to autocad" when you send files to others for their use. We run into the same problems everytime there is a file format change.


    FWIW - the squares you see with the "aec wall" text inside it is the representation of the "intelligent object" inside an autocad version that does not have an object enabler installed. If you disabled the object enabler inside autocad 2007, you would see exactly the same thing.

    Make sure that you have proxy graphics turned on before you save the file and at least then the recipient would see a 2d "dumb" representation of your objects. He/she could then measure and snap to this 2d line work.

    Hope that helps,

    RLB

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to Beth Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    355
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Richard,

    You are right that we always have this with file format change. Being that I have always been an ACAD only user until I took this job with the 2004 product, I haven't been affected before. Now I feel infected!

    Educating people is everything.

    Thanks for the tips.

  10. #10
    BIM/VDC Management Brian Myers's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    1,817
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems

    Quote Originally Posted by acad
    Richard,

    You are right that we always have this with file format change.
    Unfortunately this is the first one I can think of without an answer. In the past there always seemed to be some sort of work around... this just doesn't seem to have a workable solution currently. I just ran into this too and Autodesk today has told me there is no know solution yet for the issue. I've personally found sometimes (sadly) doing a DXF down to an earlier version will have the best results...
    Last edited by Brian Myers; 2006-05-11 at 01:09 AM.
    Brian Myers
    Jacobs: VDC Design Office Lead (BIM Leadership)
    Visit my LinkedIn Profile for more information.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-05-12, 04:21 PM
  2. LT 2007/2005 DWT incompatibility
    By de-co1 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-10-23, 12:08 PM
  3. ADT 2005 to AutoCAD 2007 back to ADT 2005
    By yoshi.honda in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 05:50 AM
  4. Importing MD 2005 2D fastener library parts into AutoCAD 2005
    By garyp.97584 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-18, 09:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •