See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: How to Order Revit Parameters

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict Scott Hopkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,197
    Login to Give a bone
    6

    Lightbulb How to Order Revit Parameters

    Let me start by saying that this tip is pure gold!

    It is such a great work around that I really hate to give it away. Once I do, the Factory will probably never develop a proper fix for parameter ordering. After much trial and error I discovered this trick a few months back. I have been feeling kind of selfish keeping it all to myself.

    Well my fellow Reviteers, the cat is now out of the bag...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    Gold, Jerry, gold!

    However, the Factory still needs to address this issue - while that's a great workaround for inserting new parameters, it doesn't help re-order parameters that have already been created. Usually when I'm developing a complicated family with a lot of parameters, I don't know what order I want them in until I've finished the family.

  3. #3
    100 Club jcdecastro's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Posts
    113
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    This is nice!!!!!!!!

    I am going to remake my specialty equipment 'templates' like this.
    Currently the Width, Depth and Height are alphabetical order. This way will cut down on input errors.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    East Walpole, MA
    Posts
    893
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    Nice work, Scott. How in blazes did you ever figure that out?

    I found that to "re-order" existing parameters (as oppossed to "adding" parameters), I had to go back into the sketch and re-label the dimension, then go back to the dialogue box and finalize the parameter deletions and name modifications.

    Also, I found that when I loaded the "revised" family into a project that had the "old" family, it did NOT load the "revised" parameters order. But, if I loaded the "revised" family into a project that did not have the "old" family, it DID load the "revised" parameters order.

    Geof.

  5. #5
    Member asusca's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    Really great!

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict bowlingbrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,233
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    You know, Scott, I hear it's really nice outside year-round in California.... GET OUT!!!

    And by the way... thanks for the tip.
    Brad Novak
    Director of Information Technology
    Gp GOETTSCH PARTNERS
    Chicago, IL

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict Scott Hopkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    Quote Originally Posted by bowlingbrad
    You know, Scott, I hear it's really nice outside year-round in California.... GET OUT!!!

    And by the way... thanks for the tip.
    Is it that obvious that I am a total Revit junkie? What can I say... when the surf is flat I end up spending too much time working. I make a lot of very complex families so I guess I get a little over excited about things that make my life easier.
    Last edited by Scott Hopkins; 2006-05-12 at 02:23 AM.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator blads's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    out cycling somewhere... I wish...
    Posts
    2,284
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    Thanks Scott - what a great tip...
    Cheers @blads
    Mac Geek | Building Design Suite 2020 | Semi-Retired Building Designer / CAD-BIM Trainer | Autodesk Certified Professional

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    It seems as though I ran into another limitation of this technique: shared parameters.

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    94
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Order Revit Parameters

    Excellent! Thanks!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-01-29, 04:46 PM
  2. Order of parameters
    By IanR in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2014-08-06, 02:05 AM
  3. Re-Order Parameters
    By ram in forum Revit Platform - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-31, 01:48 AM
  4. Re-order Parameters
    By cdsuggs in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-09-26, 09:27 PM
  5. Order of Parameters
    By thomasf in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-20, 05:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •