See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: New Laptop for running AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD LT 2007

  1. #1
    Member redWORKX's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    Dallas / Fot Worth Area, Texas
    Posts
    21
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default New Laptop for running AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD LT 2007

    Well gang, it's time for a new laptop and regardless of how hard I try to stay up on all the latest tech specs, I think I could use some input.

    I have ( ~ I think ~ ) narrowed the field down to the Dell Precision M90 and the HP NW9440. Both are configured strong right out of the box, but I have spec'ed 2 gig RAM and the Intel Duo 2 GHz chip as my base line. Operating budget is approx $3k to $5 without add-on software.

    I like the idea of only running AutoCad LT 2007, just to keep things really fast during meeting and presentations, but I know sometime in the next 2 years I will kick myself for not just installing the full version of AutoCad 2007. So I am kinda leaning that way even tho I most likely won't be doing any real taxing 3d work while I'm mobile.

    Anybody with suggestions, please throw them out, I could use all help I can get. Thanks.
    redWORKX Design Inc.
    Your AEC Technology Partner

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: New Laptop for running AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD LT 2007

    Quote Originally Posted by greg.58437
    I like the idea of only running AutoCad LT 2007, just to keep things really fast during meeting and presentations, but I know sometime in the next 2 years I will kick myself for not just installing the full version of AutoCad 2007. So I am kinda leaning that way even tho I most likely won't be doing any real taxing 3d work while I'm mobile.
    If you want something light and fast for meetings and presentations, check out DWG TrueView. If all your doing is zooming and panning this would be perfect. Then you can still have the full version of 2007 when you have to do some work.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  3. #3
    Member redWORKX's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Location
    Dallas / Fot Worth Area, Texas
    Posts
    21
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Laptop for running AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD LT 2007

    I wish I could get away with pan and zoom meetings. I get the clients that want to revise every window on the first, third and ninth floors by making them 12" wider and "...ohhh just arch the tops to would you - that would be so cute...."

    Unfortunately I will need a little more muscle on the laptop, but I like TrueView and have been using .dwf for a few years now and absolutely love it.

    Thanks Glenn. And to everyone else, comments are always appreciated ! Thanks again.
    redWORKX Design Inc.
    Your AEC Technology Partner

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-07-05, 09:04 PM
  2. AutoCAD LT 2007 with SP2 applied, appears to be running slow
    By larry.111254 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-05-09, 10:57 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-04-09, 02:51 PM
  4. Running AutoCAD 2007 on Windows Vista?
    By Jack Cheong in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-04-09, 11:26 AM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-03-10, 12:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •