See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    Just installed AutoCad with Windows XP. When I go to open a drawing, all files are shown as icons. I can change VIEW to details, but when I switch folders it goes back to displaying icons of folders and files. All other programs, such as MSWord retain the system default for all folders - I set to show details. AutoCad seems to be the only progam which will not allow me to set the display mode to details.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,297
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    what version of autocad are you running?
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,637
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    The reason that Wanderer asks is that this is a known problem for versions less than 2002, since they weren't designed for XP. On a positive note, this is about the only limitation that I've found running 2ki on XP.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    I'm running Version 2000i

  5. #5
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,637
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    Yes, 2000i is less than 2002 and has that problem. It was not designed for XP. You either have to upgrade to 2005 or live with it, which may be a long time. I just heard that Jan 15, 2005 is the drop-dead date for 2ki.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  6. #6
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-11
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    I have this exact problem. I am running AutoCAD 2006 w/Windows Vista Enterprise. Mine is also only in autoCAD. Is there a way in this forum that I can make sure I get some kind of notification if a fix is found? This is quite the frustrating glitch.

  7. #7
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,297
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    Quote Originally Posted by james.park342581 View Post
    I have this exact problem. I am running AutoCAD 2006 w/Windows Vista Enterprise. Mine is also only in autoCAD. Is there a way in this forum that I can make sure I get some kind of notification if a fix is found? This is quite the frustrating glitch.
    You can subscribe to this thread (or any forums) through the thread tools at the top of the original post, so, if someone happens to post a solution here.

    ScreenShot107.jpg
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Drawing - View in XP - I want DETAILS

    Quote Originally Posted by james.park342581 View Post
    I have this exact problem. I am running AutoCAD 2006 w/Windows Vista Enterprise. Mine is also only in autoCAD. Is there a way in this forum that I can make sure I get some kind of notification if a fix is found? This is quite the frustrating glitch.
    You can - as Wander explained - but there will never be a fix.
    AutoCAD 2006 and Windows Vista are both obsolete. Right now, AutoDesk will be working on the 2014 and 2015 versions and Micros$$t will be working on Windows 9 and 10.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Parent View and Intersecting View not an Option in some Details
    By heather.leibman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-02-13, 12:58 PM
  2. Open details by clicking callout
    By dzatto in forum ACA/AMEP Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-07-23, 05:31 PM
  3. Insert Saved View results in - Access Violation. Unable to open drawing.
    By jfields.61630 in forum AutoCAD Sheet Set Manager
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-02-22, 09:10 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-05-01, 06:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •