See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Automatic dimensioning

Login to Give a bone

Default Automatic dimensioning

Hello

I am a newbie. I have been programming in various languages since 1980. I have recently learned AutoLISP and I am now working on Autocad VBA. I have created a program to parametrically generate parts for our conveyors. The basic program generates a dialog box that request length, width, chain type, material thickness. I have two versions, one with a form that simply ask for data, the second displays a graphical representation of the formed part and has text boxes for entering the new dimensions. Not all of the text boxes are used in the code yet, it is a work in progress. At this time I can generate 10 width variations, any reasonable thickness, and any length entered. Our parts are usually 0.105 thick and up to 120" long. The holes are generated in different patterns depending on the choices. It's great for generating lengthwise variations at each width. What I cannot seem to figure out is how to create dimensions for the parts. Can anyone provide some basic sample code for adding dimensions programatically? Would using qdim or autodim help? I am using Autocad 2004 dx mechanical.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Automatic dimensioning

Each type of dim has an associated Add method, e.g. AddDimRotated. Each has sample code in the developer's guide, acad_dev.chm. You can also search this forum for "dimension".
    C:> ED WORKING....

LinkedIn

Login to Give a bone

Question Re: Automatic dimensioning

Thanks for responding.