See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    In order to use the publish option for our Land Desktop 2005 files, I have to use Land Enabled Map 2005. In order for our drawings to open in LEM I have to first open LEM, then close it and then open my file. Is there any easier way? The "open with..." option doesn't work because the computer recognizes LEM and LDD as the same application ("AutoCAD application").

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,631
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    The last used profile will always be used. So if LDT was the last one opened, then LDT will open when "acad.exe" is called from the O/S.

    If you are using PUBLISH, why are you opening drawings from the O/S anyway? Why not just open LEM, then run the PUBLISH command, add your drawings, then publish?
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Re: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    Thanks for the response. That's a good point, that saves one step, how about when I need to go back and edit with LDT? Same process? I'm trying to avoid dialog boxes as much as possible. What I really want to know is if there is a command that can switch apps. (Similar to UNLOADCD to unload civil design).

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,631
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonc
    Thanks for the response. That's a good point, that saves one step, how about when I need to go back and edit with LDT? Same process?
    I guess I don't understand. Do you routinly start AutoCAD by double-clicking a DWG file? If so, I don't know a way off hand, unless you create a custom action that calls AutoCAD using the /p switch to load a certain profile.

    I would just suggest opening the application by using the icon (LDT or LEM) then using OPEN to open the drawings. You can also drag/drop the drawing onto the title bar to open it.

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonc
    What I really want to know is if there is a command that can switch apps. (Similar to UNLOADCD to unload civil design).
    If you have LEM open and you close ALL drawings (get in a zero-document state), then open a LDT drawing, LDT will become enabled.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Re: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    Yes, I do directly open a drawing, the way our file structure is (we have literally thousands of files) Xrojectsyearproject_numberACADimprovementstype_of_improvementsheet.dwg
    its much more efficient to have a shortcut to the specific projects we are working on at the time. It becomes cumbersome to have to navigate through seven menus every time we open a file. Also we often work on more than one file at a time, so clicking on the .dwg opens another session of LDT instead of closing the first drawing and opening another. I've tried to go to a zero document state in LEM and then opening a a LDT document, but acad.exe still recognizes LEM as the last application used. You also mentioned using a /p switch, how does that work?

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,631
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonc
    its much more efficient to have a shortcut to the specific projects we are working on at the time. It becomes cumbersome to have to navigate through seven menus every time we open a file.
    Have you looked at creating shortcuts in your OPEN dialog? See: http://lynn.blogs.com/lynn_allens_bl...p_on_auto.html

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonc
    I've tried to go to a zero document state in LEM and then opening a a LDT document, but acad.exe still recognizes LEM as the last application used.
    I meant get LEM in a zero document state and then open a LDT drawing (by using the OPEN command or drag/drop) in the LEM - it should "turn into" LDT.

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonc
    You also mentioned using a /p switch, how does that work?
    See:
    http://aec.cadalyst.com/aec/article/....jsp?id=142858
    -and
    http://www.caddigest.com/subjects/au...e_switches.htm
    ...for more info.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Toggling between AutoCAD applications

    Thanks for the links, I appreciate the help!

Similar Threads

  1. CP214-4: AutoCAD .NET: Using .NET With Your LISP Applications
    By Autodesk University in forum Customization and Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-12-01, 01:45 AM
  2. CP32-1: Facelift Your AutoCAD Applications with .NET
    By Autodesk University in forum Customization and Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-17, 04:23 AM
  3. Is it possible to run .NET applications in AutoCAD LT
    By marciniak.jaroslaw in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-16, 12:13 PM
  4. Autocad français vs applications en anglais
    By christian.lacroix in forum Français - CAD Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-11-28, 07:56 AM
  5. Get AutoCAD or extend AutoCAD LT with Third-Party applications
    By jens.liljegren in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2007-02-28, 02:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •