Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Image Status - Unreadable

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Image Status - Unreadable

    I was given a drawing made with Land Development Desktop and the Image files are Unreadable. Can anyone help me understand why, and also help me get them to show up in the AutoCAD drawing?

    I use AutoCAD 2004 and I have the Autodesk Land 2004 Object Enabler installed. When the drawing is loading it gives the following information:

    Loading AecBase40...
    Loading AecViBase40...
    Loading AecCivilBase...

    When the drawing comes up on screen there are rectangles where the photographs should be. When I LIST the rectangle is says that it is an image. When I check the Image Manager Dialog Box it says that the Status of all the images is Unreadable. The images all have the file extension .SID.

    Any help that you can give will be appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Image Status - Unreadable

    As Land can read SID images though the MAP component of Land,
    you will need to download a SID viewer (the DEMO will work even after
    it expires) in order to view these SID files.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Image Status - Unreadable

    The information on SID viewers is very much appreciated. I downloaded a SID viewer and now when I double-click on the .SID files I can view them with Internet Explorer. However, AutoCAD still does not display the files and the files are still listed as unreadable in Image Manager. How can I get AutoCAD to recognize .SID files as Image files? Thanks!

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Image Status - Unreadable

    The viewer will only let you see them in your browser,
    you need something more like the full application (demo)
    and then you will continue to see them in ACAD after it has expired.
    I will look up the correct product/solution during the day tomorrow.

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Image Status - Unreadable

    Issue


    You want to import SID and ECW format files.

    Solution


    The following Autodesk® software products import the LizardTech MrSID and ER Mapper ECW format files:

    Autodesk® CAD Overlay® 2000i
    Autodesk® CAD Overlay® 2002
    Autodesk Map™ 5 based products including Autodesk® Land Desktop 3
    Autodesk® Raster Design 3
    Autodesk® Raster Design 2004

    OR:

    Applies to:
    Autodesk® Land Desktop 3
    Autodesk Map® 5


    Issue


    You want to insert a LizardTech MrSID image into a DWG file from Autodesk Map™ software or Autodesk® Land Desktop software. However, when you click Image > Insert on the Map menu, the SID file format (*.sid) is missing.

    Solution


    This problem can occur when a third-party imaging application, such as ACDSee™ from ACD Systems, retains control of the MrSID decoder and thus prohibits Autodesk Map from inserting SID files. In this case, to enable SID file insertion in Autodesk Map, you must uninstall and reinstall ACDSee to disable the MrSID decoder.

    Verify that the ACDSee application exists on the computer.
    From Windows Control Panel, uninstall ACDSee.
    Reboot the computer.
    Run ACDSee setup.
    In the Setup Type dialog box, select Custom install.
    In the Custom Setup dialog box, expand the Image Plug-ins menu and ensure that you disable the MrSID decoder (a red X appears beside the item).
    Continue to install ACDSee.
    When the installation of ACDSee is complete, start Autodesk Map.
    On the Map menu, click Image > Insert.
    You can now insert SID files into your drawing.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Image Status - Unreadable

    I contacted Lizard Tech to see if they have something I could purchase but they said they did not offer anything. If you know of a company and or product that will enable AutoCAD 2004 to view .SID files please let me know. Thanks!

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Image Status - Unreadable

    It would appear that if you have a great need for this ability,
    your options will be limited to getting MAP or Land Desktop.

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Embedded text unreadable
    By ricsivahl in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-09, 11:54 PM
  2. Grey Text , unreadable
    By chrisr in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-03-14, 01:45 PM
  3. Unreadable image on one computer (jpeg)
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-07-17, 08:56 PM
  4. .tif image unreadable
    By SRBalliet in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-11-09, 02:52 PM
  5. Unreadable Temp Dimensions
    By roy.70844 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-03-17, 07:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •