Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

  1. #1
    100 Club andrewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-06
    Posts
    149
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    i have a co-worker from a sister company that wants to take an ACAD license from an old machine and move it to a new one... of course he is going to remove it from the old one when he is finished... and no, I'm not sure what version it is... i thought he said something about 2000E...

    what is the process for doing this move and getting the new authorization code?

    thanks...
    Drew

  2. #2
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    Quote Originally Posted by andrewp
    i have a co-worker from a sister company that wants to take an ACAD license from an old machine and move it to a new one... of course he is going to remove it from the old one when he is finished... and no, I'm not sure what version it is... i thought he said something about 2000E...

    what is the process for doing this move and getting the new authorization code?

    thanks...
    AutoCAD 2000i perhaps? I never heard of AutoCAD 2000E. I know you can migrate licences, but if a permanent transfer of license is desired, the easiest way is to remove AutoCAD from the old machine, install it on the new one, and call Autodesk to request an authorization code.
    Why draw straws? Just draw one straw and array it.

    Scott Wilcox - Edmonton, Alberta


  3. #3
    100 Club rclayton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Location
    Harrisville, MI
    Posts
    166
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    If he wrote down the Auth Code from the original install, the same onw will work for the new install.

  4. #4
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    Quote Originally Posted by rclayton
    If he wrote down the Auth Code from the original install, the same onw will work for the new install.
    In my experience, the authorization code is dependent on the key code generated by AutoCAD during installation. This key code is unique to every installation and transferring AutoCAD to a new computer required a new authorization code. Do I remember incorrectly?
    Why draw straws? Just draw one straw and array it.

    Scott Wilcox - Edmonton, Alberta


  5. #5
    BIM/VDC Management Brian Myers's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    1,819
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    In the old days (I believe 2000i is included in this) here was the solution, I'm not 100% certain if the phone # is still correct but it was the phone number back then if you need it.

    All AutoCAD 2000, 2000i and 2002 create the reginfo.txt file and it should be in your AutoCAD directory if you registered via the web. You could also try registering again or contacting customer service.

    Autodesk Customer Service Center at 1-800-538-6401
    Brian Myers
    VDC Design Office Lead | Digital Delivery Lead | BIM Management
    Visit my LinkedIn Profile for more information.

  6. #6
    BIM/VDC Management Brian Myers's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    1,819
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    Quote Originally Posted by scott.wilcox
    Do I remember incorrectly?
    You remember correctly, I'm just not sure if 2000i had this protection (14 didn't, 2000 and 2000i would have been the first if they do).
    Brian Myers
    VDC Design Office Lead | Digital Delivery Lead | BIM Management
    Visit my LinkedIn Profile for more information.

  7. #7
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,342
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    Quote Originally Posted by Dilbert
    You remember correctly, I'm just not sure if 2000i had this protection (14 didn't, 2000 and 2000i would have been the first if they do).
    I didn't use 2000i, the first I recall this with was 2002
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  8. #8
    100 Club rclayton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Location
    Harrisville, MI
    Posts
    166
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Transferring an AutoCAD licence to another PC

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer
    I didn't use 2000i, the first I recall this with was 2002
    Interesting, but I remember that the authcode was only tied to the serial number in 2002. We went from 2002 to 2006 so I dont know when the whole generated key code setup started, but up until 2002 you could use the AuthCode generated for a particular serial number on the install to any given machine, thereby allowing you to move the license without recontacting Autodesk.

Similar Threads

  1. Price for AUTOCAD training licence
    By srbros_r353586 in forum Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-01-23, 12:51 PM
  2. Gagner une licence AutoCAD for MAC
    By FB_ReviTmAN in forum Français - Récréation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-11-29, 12:53 PM
  3. AutoCAD Rivit licence copy
    By musharraffm in forum Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-06-27, 07:46 AM
  4. Transferring fonts from autocad 2002 to 2008?
    By rossguitar07 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-12-31, 08:05 PM
  5. Revoking a AutoCad licence.
    By phardman in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-12-16, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •