Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2006-07
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    My organization recently was absorbed by a GIANT Multinational, we need to have a seamless way to convert our dwg files to dgn, else we will lose this battle and have to switch platforms...can anybody help ?

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,412
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    Quote Originally Posted by mknowler
    My organization recently was absorbed by a GIANT Multinational, we need to have a seamless way to convert our dwg files to dgn, else we will lose this battle and have to switch platforms...can anybody help ?
    Autodesk MAP3d will export to DGN, or Microstation can read DGN itself. You didn't mention the program/release you're using or the release of MS being used, but, there is no way to do it in plain vanilla AutoCAD. I think there is some sort of DGN converter in the works at Adesk, but I don't know what all it does offhand.

    I haven't used any standalone convertors that may be available on the market right now, hopefully someone else can speak on them with authority.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    Archibus, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, Tandem, and Planon, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,816
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    Forget it. There is no perfect method. The two formats each have properties and features that the other doesn't - which means something gets compromised in the translation.

    If your drawings only contained lines, arcs and text - you might be OK, but most of today's drawings are much more complex with blocks, objects, etc.

    The general consensus is to do the work in the required format.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  4. #4
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,688
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    From what I've heard, Revit dose a decent job export to .dgn format. The other option that I've heard of is Navis Works, but again, I've only seen the export side. I don't have microstation so I can't tell you what comes in.

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,070
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    RK is right -- it's not possible to seamlessly translate between dwg and dgn. it's possible to get workable translations, if your level of compatibility is low enough, but they will not be exactly the same because a) the complex object are not the same objects, and b) not all the simple object have equivalents. a linestring is not exactly the same thing as a polyline, even though they are similar. a point in Acad translates to a zero-length line in the other place, and a circle translates to an equal-length ellipse. those are completely different mathematical descriptions.

    On the bright side, if the new boys are huge fans of the Bentley boys, then they can use the 'seemless' ability of Microstation to use AutoCAD drawings.

    Marketing hype aside, when I've needed to do this for client deliverables, I converted my working acad drawings to dumb acad drawings, with simple drawing objects, and translated those to the other side.

  6. #6
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer
    <SNIP> I think there is some sort of DGN converter in the works at Adesk, but I don't know what all it does offhand.

    <SNIP>
    Hi

    Just for information purposes...

    DGN V8 translator now in Beta for ACAD 2007

    Have a good one, Mike

  7. #7
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,412
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Hi

    Just for information purposes...

    DGN V8 translator now in Beta for ACAD 2007

    Have a good one, Mike
    Ah, there we are... my first mistake was searching the www instead of good old augi. Thank you!
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    Archibus, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, Tandem, and Planon, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  8. #8
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,816
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Anybody know how to make seamless export to .dgn?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer
    Ah, there we are... my first mistake was searching the www instead of good old augi. Thank you!
    It's been on http://labs.autodesk.com for a few weeks. Not sure where you searched on www ....

    No matter the tool, they all suffer from the facts posted above...
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. Seamless Brick
    By dzatto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-06-22, 02:12 PM
  2. Seamless plaster line for wall-column joint?
    By sumedha2512 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-11-24, 08:46 PM
  3. Seamless Roof/Wall Join
    By bregnier in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-11-04, 08:33 PM
  4. Seamless tiling
    By charliep in forum Revit - Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-02-29, 04:21 PM
  5. Import of Seamless Data Distribution
    By whittendesigns in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-12, 02:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •