Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Open Dialog Box

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Open Dialog Box

    Has anyone found a work around to force the open dialog box view to stay on details rather than default to preview each time.
    Thanks

    Win XP
    Acad 2000i

  2. #2
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Dialog Box

    See this thread in the Cad Management -- operating systems forum. Basically, it says that this is not possible, because pre-2002 AutoCAD's were not XP compliant

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Dialog Box

    Thanks Brenda, I'll have to live with it. Upgrade is not far away!

  4. #4
    100 Club troberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    167
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Re: Open Dialog Box

    I have a similar problem, when I go to open a drawing the dialog box lists all the folders and files in ascending order instead of descending. I'm starting with all the z*.dwg files instead of the a*.dwgs. This is not the way folders open in My Computer.

    Is there a SETVAR that controls this?

    Thanks, Tim

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Dialog Box

    Click on "name" at the top of the open dialogue box to put them in ascending order. It remembers how you had it last and will reopen the same way.
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  6. #6
    100 Club troberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    167
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: Open Dialog Box

    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto View Post
    Click on "name" at the top of the open dialogue box to put them in ascending order. It remembers how you had it last and will reopen the same way.
    That works for "MY Computer" but it is not working for the Open Dialog Box through AutoCAD. We have tried that, but every time we go to open a new drawing the list is displayed backwards, starting with Z*.dwgs.

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open Dialog Box

    Do you have full rights on your computer? Maybe IT has it locked somewhere. It should remember how you had it last and open up the same way. Mine does.
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

Similar Threads

  1. Recent Open Files List in Open Dialog Box
    By inventor.wishlist1738 in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-09-16, 07:10 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-06-17, 09:42 PM
  3. Open file dialog box does not open
    By johannvonspiralspine in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-02-07, 04:28 PM
  4. open file dialog box slow to open
    By klanier in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-09-09, 02:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •