Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Civil Engineering Moderator civil3Dguide's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    281
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

    Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt). Do not use the standard acad.dwt that is set as the default for QNew when shipped.Unless of course you save a Civil 3D.dwt or dwg as acad.dwt.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

    Good Idea - but sometimes I get files from surveyors or other engrs that don't have my styles.....is there as EASY way to transfer ALL styles from one drawing to another?
    Maybe I just don't understand it, but using design center doesn't seem to enable transfer of all styles...you have to expand the tree, choose them one at a time, etc.

  3. #3
    Civil Engineering Moderator civil3Dguide's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    281
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Wink Re: Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

    You're going to really like this one, as I did when I found it out, but it is one of those "why did I not find this out before now" tips. You can take a blank dwg with your styles in it, insert it as a block and that will bring them in. I have had some trouble with the larger files, but the Autodesk _NCS dwt or something around the same size 500Kb works good for me. If I try one around 1Mg I'm crashing most likely.
    Enjoy
    Last edited by civil3Dguide; 2006-12-08 at 12:08 AM.

  4. #4
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

    Thats brillant, Thanks!

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Hammer.John.J's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Location
    Springfield, MA
    Posts
    487
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

    Wow, i remember when you had to do this with regular cad dwgs that we setup as templates before the .dwt existed.... funny how that still works. That however is somewhat of a boondoggle though, because on one hand it's great that it brings everything in... but it's bad that it brings everything in. If you have some blown up stuff in a drawing and you insert it into your nice drawing, you're in a world of hurt and cleanup on aisle 9 takes days.
    Thank you kindly
    Lead Landscape Architect & CAD Manager
    R14 - C3D 2014
    http://www.youtube.com/user/butzers03xtreme I drive a Silverado, its loud and I like it

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).

    I started using the CAD standard tools that are built into AutoCAD. I just copy and past the drawing from the surveyor and use the tools to step through the layers, textstyles, etc. Can have a cleaned up ready to go base file within a hour. As long as the surveyor doesn't put half of the line work on layer "MISC"
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

Similar Threads

  1. How to start a Custom Project Template?
    By twollifur in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-08-13, 03:05 AM
  2. Start-up Metric Template
    By Jack Cheong in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-23, 11:31 AM
  3. MEP Template files-Where to start?
    By Liamnacuac in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-09-26, 12:54 PM
  4. Start Revit Without Template
    By tmomeyer in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-09-10, 08:51 AM
  5. Start a new DWG without selecting a Template
    By cwjean76 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-12-09, 01:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •