Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Copying cells from Excel to AutoCAD tables / AutoCorrect

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Copying cells from Excel to AutoCAD tables / AutoCorrect

    For our business we use a lot of plant lists and inventories. it can be a tedious job so we set up an AutoCorrect system for use in our Microsoft Office system, and it cuts down on our time considerably.

    Lately we've started to integrate our data right into our drawings, Again we're finding that it's a tedious task to fill in the chart, because 1) AutoCAD doesn't have an AutoCorrect system like Microsoft Office does and 2) AutoCAD doesn't keep the cell formatting when copying cells from excel to a table in AutoCAD.

    I've tried using the OLE Object insertion method, but it doesn't always look as I want the table to.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    394
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying cells from Excel to AutoCAD tables / AutoCorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by marknorthcott
    For our business we use a lot of plant lists and inventories. it can be a tedious job so we set up an AutoCorrect system for use in our Microsoft Office system, and it cuts down on our time considerably.

    Lately we've started to integrate our data right into our drawings, Again we're finding that it's a tedious task to fill in the chart, because 1) AutoCAD doesn't have an AutoCorrect system like Microsoft Office does and 2) AutoCAD doesn't keep the cell formatting when copying cells from excel to a table in AutoCAD.

    I've tried using the OLE Object insertion method, but it doesn't always look as I want the table to.

    I personally don't like autocad tables. In my office we do all of our schedules and material lists in Excel and then use an add on to AutoCAD called CADTool to import the excel data into autocad. It works great and imports the data into autocad with the same formatting as the orginal excel data. Once you have the data in autocad you can easily update it from the original excel source.

    I belive the web site is www.CADTool.com

    Tim Mailloux
    Tecton Architects

  3. #3
    100 Club avdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    STL Metro
    Posts
    173
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying cells from Excel to AutoCAD tables / AutoCorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by tim.101799
    I belive the web site is www.CADTool.com
    Link supplied is a dead one here's the correct link
    http://www.cadtool.net/

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying cells from Excel to AutoCAD tables / AutoCorrect

    If you are going to look at 3rd party Excel->AutoCAD tools, take a look at XL2CAD @ http://www.dotsoft.com/xl2cad.htm
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to dfarris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    where ever i'm at
    Posts
    252
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying cells from Excel to AutoCAD tables / AutoCorrect

    I haven't had much trouble importing a table from Excel into Acad. If I did have trouble I'd look at the formatting in my table styles before using any 3rd party add-ons.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-10-31, 03:34 PM
  2. Excel cells in AutoCAD
    By giannou in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 2009-12-09, 12:51 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-11-06, 05:48 PM
  4. AutoCAD 2006 - Minus cells between two tables
    By tyeelaw13 in forum AutoCAD Tables
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-09-14, 12:47 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-03-13, 07:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •