Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    can any one help i an looking at trying to extract the size of a part ie: length, width, thickness using attributes but if i strech the part all the sizes change is this possible if so can someone point me in the right direction

    many thanks

    Dave

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    Hi Dave.
    Attributes only work as part of a block so stretching doesn't work. You would have to apply different x,y,z scales to the block.
    I'm pretty sure you would need some programming (or a dynamic block perhaps) to adjust the attributes to suit.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,463
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    Hi Dave,

    Please note I have *moved* this thread from the New Forum Users Forum to this one as I believe it would be better served here.

    Below snippet is from the small print on the Forum General page -

    <snip>
    New to the Forums? This is the place to experiment with the posting editor and learn how to interact with our forums. Please experiment here with forum features and commands.
    </snip>

    Thanks,

    Richard
    Forum Moderator
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to dfarris75's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    where ever i'm at
    Posts
    252
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    Extract meaning you want to extract the attribute data from the .dwg to put into Excel or something?

    If yes, then I suppose you could add separate attributes and set visibility in the block editor accordingly.

    Or extract meaning you want it to display the part size, etc. in the .dwg if you stretch it?

    In this case I would suppose you may want to try using fields attached to the object(s).

    You may even want to try combining fields and attributes...
    Last edited by dfarris75; 2006-08-07 at 05:07 PM.

  5. #5
    100 Club r424andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    In this Chair
    Posts
    170
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    If the dynamic block is set up right you can also extract the properties that have been changed

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    Quote Originally Posted by dave.buckberry
    can any one help i an looking at trying to extract the size of a part ie: length, width, thickness using attributes but if i strech the part all the sizes change is this possible if so can someone point me in the right direction

    many thanks

    Dave
    use fields in your attributes that are linked to Dynamic parameters. then use the attribute extraction wizard found under tools to create a linked table.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  7. #7
    100 Club r424andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    In this Chair
    Posts
    170
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    You dont even need fields or attributes. The properties of the block alone are extractable
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by r424andy; 2006-08-08 at 02:05 PM.

  8. #8
    100 Club wroebuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    158
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    It is possible to set up you blocks and extract the data no matter what the new values are. I personally like to use attributes, with naming conventions. That way if using lisp or vb we can grab the blocks and manipulate the atts how ever we want. You can use the attribute extraction wizard as well. I posted this block in the AutoCAD forums, it is a good example of what I am talking about.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    100 Club wroebuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    158
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    Here is a basic sample of a wall or panel. Most of the attributes are fields, so the user only needs to type in the thickness. Hope this helps.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Active Member esdeyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Carthage, MO
    Posts
    76
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes

    I took information from a dynamic block to fill out a steel bill. see the thread below.

    http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=35499

    I hope this is helpful.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic block with attributes that display X, Y, and Z values
    By sammyz28 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 2015-12-03, 05:37 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-06-16, 07:54 PM
  3. How to change dynamic block attribute default values based on block selected?
    By zeirz109180 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-12-13, 02:20 PM
  4. link dynamic block parameters with block attributes
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-12, 06:38 PM
  5. Extract data from Dynamic block with attributes
    By mahesh.darekar in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-01-24, 04:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •