Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Border around mtext

  1. #1
    ACAD Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Posts
    1,920

    Default Border around mtext

    Summary: The ability to add a border around mtext within the mtext dialog

    Description: I would like as an option within MTEXT to be able to select a border to be placed around my text in conjunction with the background feature.

    How Used: This would allow users in one step through the MTEXT command to add a box around text utilizing the background feature with a border. The border would be equal to the perimeter of the background. It would eliminate having to draw a rectangle for the border then using the wipeout command to cover objects below and then placing MTEXT in the rectangle (or the use of TCIRCLE).

    Feature Affinity: MText

    Submitted By: Mark Stoner on August 13, 2006

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    I second the motion. I sometimes draw rectangles around mtext. This feature would
    make borders easy.

  3. #3
    Active Member Cadtharsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Pi World. It's not what I was thinking. :(
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    Toolpac has this command, but yes, it ought to be right there when you create text.

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2015-08
    Location
    birmingham, alabama
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    hi,
    maybe added option of border thickness (thin line, medium or thick) based on percent of textsize, and distance the border is from the text (really close or a reasonable gap).

    karl

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    This is already possible with (at least AutoCAD 2013) the MLEADER command, you can set a new style that also includes a box around your text. If you don't need a leader or wish to add multiple leaders, this is also possible with MLEADERS, background mask is also available with this setup
    Last edited by matthewc180975; 2013-05-13 at 02:50 AM. Reason: added background masking information

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time Richard McDonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    At right angles to reality
    Posts
    537

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    This has been possible for some time with the express tools.

    Various ways - set back ground of text and use the enclose text with object.
    - Textmask with wipeout => frame turned on.

    Note:- These do not work with annotative text. The text mask removes the annotative setting and sets the paper height to the scale. It can also change the insertion point for the scale you've shown.

    If these were fixed it would be a start.

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Posts
    383

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    Quote Originally Posted by jakob_k View Post
    hi,
    maybe added option of border thickness (thin line, medium or thick) based on percent of textsize, and distance the border is from the text (really close or a reasonable gap).

    karl
    Also adding the ability to change the layer of the border so that we could turn it off or on in some circumstances.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,993

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    I would _not_ want to see multiple layers beingued for a single mtext/mleader entity. It's just not needed. Border properties, including visibility/lineweight would be preferable. Set them in the style, and over-ride on an entity basis as required.

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2013-03
    Location
    Can you say DERECHO, Iowa
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: Border around mtext

    You could use a dynamic block with multi-line attributes being used. This would allow you to set different borders based on visibility and you would also be able to set one visibility as no border so that it looked like a default mtext...

  10. #10
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Exclamation Re: Border around mtext

    The wish has already been granted. This thread is closed to further posts.

Similar Threads

  1. MTEXT Border and transparency
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-08-10, 04:29 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2011-05-13, 04:47 PM
  3. MTEXT/DTEXT NOT SCALING WITH BORDER/TITLEBLOCK
    By dbreidinger in forum AutoCAD Mechanical - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-22, 08:21 PM
  4. Border(s) for MText Background Mask
    By Tom Beauford in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-02-21, 01:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •