Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    I've recently been upgraded from v.2004 to v.2007 and I've lost a very useful tool.
    v.2004 offered a FREEZE icon (snowflake) that allowed the user to select any specific item on a layer and remove it from displaying WITHOUT turning 'off' the entire layer.
    i.e., If a layer contained a large rectangle with 6 small squares (#1 thru 6), I could click on the 'snowflake' then select squares #2 & #5 and they would turn 'off' (be removed from view and also from printing/plotting); the remaining rectangle and squares #1,3, 4 & 6 would still display.

    I have searched v.2007 and can't find a way to access this tool; other than the Std. 'snowflake' that turns the entire layer 'off'.

    I used this tool for displaying engineering devices when Architctural or other
    engineering disciplines have objects that are not relevant to my package; or contain too much graphics that make the drawing difficult to read. This was really a time-saver!!!



    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Neda Anser; 2006-08-30 at 01:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,780
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    Is this vanilla AutoCAD or a vertical?

    If this is Map or LDT, try the ._AecHideObjects command
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    You got me there...all I know is that we have the Full licensed Office version..

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Mamma Jamma's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    343
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    I thought that I heard that this was taken from Express Tools and made part of ACAD2007 (even LT)? Was I mistaken? It may be just relocated to a different toolbar?
    Mamma Jamma

    "Normal is an illusion. What is normal for the spider is chaos for the fly"
    Morticia Addams

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    I' ve searched until I'm blue in the face...can't find ....

  6. #6
    100 Club cholmes's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    I don't know about vanilla AutoCAD, but in ADT there is a new toolbar called "Layers II" which is where you can find it. Also in the Format pulldown in layer tools. The icon on the toolbar looks a bit different, but it still has the snowflake.


    Sorry, I just reread your post and I don't think this is what you are looking for. The only thing I can think of that is close is the object isolate/ object hide tools, but I don't know if there is a toolbar for them, only the lightbulb at the bottom right corner.
    Last edited by cholmes; 2006-08-24 at 09:13 PM.

  7. #7
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,780
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    Quote Originally Posted by cholmes
    The only thing I can think of that is close is the object isolate/ object hide tools, but I don't know if there is a toolbar for them, only the lightbulb at the bottom right corner.

    That is the ._AecHideObjects command.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  8. #8
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,780
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    Quote Originally Posted by amiller.119875
    Full licensed Office version..
    I suppose you mean that you have Full blown AutoCAD, not AutoCAD LT.

    Are you sure that this wasn't a 3rd party routine that you had in r2004?

    I don't know of any core command that "hides certain objects" - not the entire layer.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  9. #9
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    Quote Originally Posted by amiller.119875
    <SNIP>

    If there is a way to retrieve this tool function, please email me at:
    < Personal contact information removed. >

    Thanks in advance.
    Hi

    I personally recommend that you edit your above post and remove your personal contact numbers ( unless you are 100% happy about giving out such information publicly ).

    You might also want to review "Forum Security" which can be found in the "AUGI Forum Guidelines".

    Thanks, Mike

    Forum Manager

  10. #10
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,486
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: FREEZE tool/icon (snowflake) was in AutoCAD 2004, lost in AutoCAD 2007

    Will this set of routines from Cadalyst do what you are looking for?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2008 MText indent lost when opening in AutoCAD 2007
    By nbowley in forum AutoCAD Annotation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-09-07, 04:35 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-05-04, 03:49 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-03-27, 03:06 PM
  4. Is there a way to convert AutoCAD 2004 Tool Palettes to 2007?
    By lmank in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-10-27, 05:01 AM
  5. Cost of upgrading from AutoCAD 2004 to AutoCAD 2007
    By SteveChestnut in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-05-25, 10:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •