Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    83
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    Hi all -

    Is there an easy way to do this?

    I have one block copied into multiple instances across many different layouts within the same drawing, and have entered the attributes for one of the blocks already. Is there a way to distribute these attribute entries to all of the blocks in a fashion similar to "match properties" or "copy / paste" ? Again, all of the blocks share the same attribute place holders and tags.

    Thanks!

    Albert

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer913
    Hi all -

    Is there an easy way to do this?

    I have one block copied into multiple instances across many different layouts within the same drawing, and have entered the attributes for one of the blocks already. Is there a way to distribute these attribute entries to all of the blocks in a fashion similar to "match properties" or "copy / paste" ? Again, all of the blocks share the same attribute place holders and tags.

    Thanks!

    Albert
    if you select multiple instances of the same block, you can edit their attribute properties en-masse as long as the information and attributes are the same. i dont know of a 'copy / paste' way of doing it though.

    you can qselect by block name and then edit as above.

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    83
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    Quote Originally Posted by Chad_C
    if you select multiple instances of the same block, you can edit their attribute properties en-masse as long as the information and attributes are the same. i dont know of a 'copy / paste' way of doing it though.

    you can qselect by block name and then edit as above.
    Thank you for the idea. Problem I run into here is that I'm trying to edit block ref's of my title block, which are spread across 30 or so viewports. The Qselect command (as tested) only selects in the current space. Any other thoughts?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    Have you tried the Export Attributes and Import Attributes options in Express Tools?

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer913
    Thank you for the idea. Problem I run into here is that I'm trying to edit block ref's of my title block, which are spread across 30 or so viewports. The Qselect command (as tested) only selects in the current space. Any other thoughts?

    Thanks
    might be able to get a script to do that. im know squat about LISP programming, so i cant help much there.

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    Quote Originally Posted by slayer913
    Thank you for the idea. Problem I run into here is that I'm trying to edit block ref's of my title block, which are spread across 30 or so viewports. The Qselect command (as tested) only selects in the current space. Any other thoughts?

    Thanks
    i take it you don't use the Sheet Set Manager?
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  7. #7
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks


  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying attributes to multiple blocks

    I dont have time right now, but maybe some one else can assist you, this code can be modified to change all the blocks in the drawing at once, you just need to change the stuff in red to match the information you need to change. the first "1" is the tag string name, the second is the value to be input into that tag. Like I said, I dont have time right now to test setting it up for global update, but maybe someone else can.
    Code:
    (defun c:rn ()
    	(setq filetype (getvar "dwgname"))
      (setq Ent (ssname (ssget "_x" '((0 . "insert")(2 . "TBL14")))0))
      (setq EntData (entget Ent))
      (if
       (and
    	  (= (cdr (assoc 0 EntData)) "INSERT")
    	  (= (strcase (cdr (assoc 2 EntData))) "TBL14")
    	  (not
    		(foreach Att (vlax-invoke (vlax-ename->vla-object Ent) 'GetAttributes)
    	(if (= (vla-get-TagString Att) "1")
     (setq tmpList (cons Att (vla-get-TextString Att)))
    	  )
       );end foreach
     );END NOT
    	  );END AND
     (vla-put-TextString (car tmpList) "1")
     (vla-Update (car tmpList))
       );end if
    );end defun

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-02-27, 05:40 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-02-12, 12:51 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-02-07, 05:29 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-07, 05:21 PM
  5. Edit Multiple Blocks without losing attributes?
    By tburke in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-08-15, 05:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •