Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Offset leader distance from origin

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    383
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Offset leader distance from origin

    Hello
    I am trying to create a leader with an ellipse instead of an arrow. The problem I am having is that I can not get the leader to start at the edge of my ellipse. (it starts in the middle) Is there anyway to have the leader line not start until 4 inches (or any given measurement)?
    Thanks in advance,
    Andre

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    487
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Offset leader distance from origin

    the insert point for the block you or using to replace the arrow in the leader need its insert point 1 unit from the point that you what the leader to attach.


    if your block was a circle 1 unit in size make the insert the left side of the circle and draw a line from to left of the circle 1 units.


    to see a exp: draw a leader set the arrow type to Origin indicator 2 this will add a block to your drawing name _Origin2. Insert _Origin2 Block this is a exp: of a leader block. Note: the .5 unit line is used to fill in the last .5 units of the leader. if the line was remove they be a .5 unit cap in the leader line.
    Last edited by jwanstaett; 2006-09-05 at 06:44 PM.
    Note:
    update to 2011
    I am using ADT 2007 08/06/2008

    PS. If you use any Code I post or Down Load Attachment I would like to know if it was helpful. So please post reply to this thread, on how you use the code or down load. Thank You

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to pnorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    203
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Offset leader distance from origin

    The distance from the end of the leader line to the center of the leader block is determined by the dimasz variable. When working with ellipses as arrow heads you may need to add a small line to the leader block to get it to look right.
    See attached image.

    Regards
    Phill


    Sorry I forgot to mention. In the attached example our dimasz variable is set to 2.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by pnorman; 2006-09-05 at 06:56 PM.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    383
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Offset leader distance from origin

    Hey guys,
    Jwan - I needed the center of my ellipse/circle to be my pick point
    Pnorm - thankyou for your advice, dimasz seems to be exactly what I was looking for.
    Thanks everyone

Similar Threads

  1. OFFSET WITH 20% OF MEASURED DISTANCE.
    By aijazahmed in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-06-05, 04:12 PM
  2. Leader Origin in Symbols
    By RPU_eric in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-12-06, 12:26 PM
  3. 2010: Offset Distance
    By lswinea in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-18, 01:35 AM
  4. distance and offset along a polyline
    By ccowgill in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2006-05-30, 12:48 PM
  5. Text Leader Origin Flexibility
    By narlee in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-06-06, 03:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •