See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Posts
    62
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    I have to work on lots of drawings with bad CAD practices, especially where Blocks are concerned. They created a Block on "whatever" layer(instead of "zero") they were working on, or maybe someone else created it years ago, & now it has been inserted into a new drawing on a different layer.

    Is there a way to quickly find this single block, with unknown name,in the drawing? I can't find the Block, Merge or Purge the layer on which it was created.

  2. #2
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    Quote Originally Posted by bjack56
    I have to work on lots of drawings with bad CAD practices, especially where Blocks are concerned. They created a Block on "whatever" layer(instead of "zero") they were working on, or maybe someone else created it years ago, & now it has been inserted into a new drawing on a different layer.

    Is there a way to quickly find this single block, with unknown name,in the drawing? I can't find the Block, Merge or Purge the layer on which it was created.
    if you have 2006 or 07, you can type in 'BE' (block editor) and maybe walk thru the inserted blocks. once found, you can instantly fix.
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  3. #3
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,380
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    If I am reading your question correctly, I think you might find some helpful information in the following threads:
    Changing block entities' color to bylayer

    batch modification of block properties

    Colors Bylayer


    Quote Originally Posted by bjack56
    I have to work on lots of drawings with bad CAD practices, especially where Blocks are concerned. They created a Block on "whatever" layer(instead of "zero") they were working on, or maybe someone else created it years ago, & now it has been inserted into a new drawing on a different layer.

    Is there a way to quickly find this single block, with unknown name,in the drawing? I can't find the Block, Merge or Purge the layer on which it was created.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Posts
    62
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    I'm using 2002 right now which gives the following message for Layer Merge Express Tool. Tried Merging to layer "zero".

    Layer 1 could not be purged because it is being referenced by some object(s) in the drawing.

  5. #5
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,380
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    hmm... sorry for my previous answer, I definitely read that wrong, have you tried doing a QSELECT for all entity types on 'Layer 1'? In theory, then you could find the offending block that way. good luck.
    Quote Originally Posted by bjack56
    I'm using 2002 right now which gives the following message for Layer Merge Express Tool. Tried Merging to layer "zero".

    Layer 1 could not be purged because it is being referenced by some object(s) in the drawing.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  6. #6
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    Quote Originally Posted by bjack56
    Layer 1 could not be purged because it is being referenced by some object(s) in the drawing.
    Post or email me the drawing if you wish.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-02
    Posts
    62
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    Tried QSELECT with no luck. I am not too familiar with using it though, so might not have done properly.

    2002 format dwg attached...I hope.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    The block A04119 contains a layer "1".

  9. #9
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok
    The block A04119 contains a layer "1".
    The block definition or an insertion of that block is on "1" ?
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Help finding the relevant Block so Layer 1 can be Purged

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    The block definition or an insertion of that block is on "1" ?

    The block definition.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Finding out why an item can't be purged.
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2019-03-29, 03:18 AM
  2. 2015: Find command not finding field values in dynamic block
    By jpcadconsulting347236 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2017-07-27, 07:56 PM
  3. Finding a block within a drawing
    By csorensen in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-06-09, 04:13 PM
  4. Is RMEP relevant?
    By Liamnacuac in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-02-06, 06:03 PM
  5. Finding objects on a particular layer
    By zride91 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-09-10, 12:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •