Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    I have been using Autocad 2000 and recently started using 2006. I am working in 3D. Let's say I am on a front view. I click a point at random on the left side of the view and then move my mouse to the right slightly. I type in 5 and enter so as to make the line 5 inches long. When I go to a top view the line has different starting and ending z points. I have never had this happen before.

  2. #2
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    When in the front view if you pick a point at random and don't snap to existing geometry the line will start at the 0 elevation of the front view. When you change to the top view the line you created may or may not be near your existing geometry depending on how close your existing geometry is to 0,0,0.

    Does that make sense or am I completely missing your point?
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    I think maybe I didn't do a good job of explaining. Lets say we start at a front view. Select a point at random or snap to an existing point of some sort to start the line. I have ORTHO on and I wish to make a line 5 inches to the right. I usually will just move my mouse to the right and type 5 and enter. For some reason when I go to a top view I discover the line starts at the desired z value but ends at some random z value. In the past when I have done this the line has allways started and ended at the same z value unless I draw the line and snap to points at different z locations.

  4. #4
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    Sorry for the misunderstanding.

    Questions:

    When in the front few are you in the World Coordinate System (WCS) or a User Coordinate System (UCS)? My thought is you might be in a UCS that is skewed to the WCS.

    If you list the line you created in the front view is it 5 units long?

    Does the line appear straight in the front view?

    Not sure I have an idea what is going on just fishing for clues.
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    OK, I may have misrepresented the problem. It turns out that this only happens when I start the line from the quadrant of a circle and then try to make the line a certain length. It for some reason doesn't follow parallel in the z axis.

  6. #6
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    Is there anyway you could post an example of the problem so that I can see if I can duplicate/figure out the issue?
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    Try it on this drawing. Start at the bottom quadrant of the largest circle and make a line going left 5 inches.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    In case it is a setting in my autocad, here is the same drawing after I perform the above proceedure.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,082
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    Have you looked at the OSNAPZ system variable?

    Quote Originally Posted by AutoCAD Help

    OSNAPZ System Variable

    Type: Integer
    Saved in: Not-saved
    Initial value: 0

    Controls whether object snaps are automatically projected onto a plane parallel to the XY plane of the current UCS at the current elevation.

    0 Osnap uses the Z-value of the specified point

    1 Osnap substitutes the Z-value of the specified point with the elevation (ELEV) set for the current UCS
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Lines on X axis are drawn at varying Z axis

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie
    Have you looked at the OSNAPZ system variable?

    Changing it to 1 did stop it from doing this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Label Style Composer - Can't get component lines down to profile grid axis
    By PGP-LA in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Profiles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-06-10, 09:57 PM
  2. 'Section box' in {3D} view can be rotated about X or Y axis as well as Z axis.
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-02-06, 07:34 AM
  3. How to plot duct axis lines ??
    By ncostab in forum Revit - Plotting/Printing/Exporting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-11-12, 09:26 PM
  4. z-axis fillet between lines
    By eli_lied in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-03-04, 01:08 PM
  5. Correcting Lines which are slightly off the axis
    By harilalmn in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-02-05, 06:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •