See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

  1. #1
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,485
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    I was preparing a short discussion for our local Revit user group meeting (LUG) to cover detailing with Revit. While not an expert at detailing as an architectural person by any means I have spent a fair amount of time working with acad details and microstation too...the following applies to AutoCAD detail files specifically but most will apply to Microstation as well.

    This list was also assembled assuming that "you" are not abandoning the acad files in favor of Revit only based details. These tips will help you keep the details portable and useable in either application.

    First, stay focused on your goals and choose common ground that helps you achieve them. Avoid statements that start with; "I can't..." We can't..." "I won't...."

    Font and Dimension Tips:
    • DON'T use a width factor other than (1) in AutoCAD text styles (Revit now supports width factors in text and dimension styles but may not import them initially)
    • DON'T use custom symbols that aren't also present in the TTF font.
    • DON'T use a custom leader routine and/or custom arrows/terminators

    • DO use a TTF font in AutoCAD OR
    • DO use Revit's shxfontmap.txt to map shx fonts to a TTF font in Revit)
    • DO use the dimension leader object in AutoCAD
    • DO use a standard arrow or dimension terminator
    • DO make sure that blocks with attributes follow these rules too
    Project Mgmt and General:
    • DO put details in a project specific location and don't move them
    • DO Import and link details and check the "current view" option
    • DO consider a separate detail project if you are dealing with a large multi-building project
    • DO manage them in "one" place, for consistency (AutoCAD since that's what were talking about here)
    • DO use a detail specific layer structure to manage lineweights more easily if required
    • DO make sure your details are located near 0,0 (origin)
    • DO use custom programming routines to automate changes these tips require
    • DO make sure drafting views use the same scale as the imported detail

    • DON'T move the details once linked
    • DON'T explode details (change them in Acad, if you want to keep them useable for both)
    • DON'T put multiple details on one AutoCAD file. One detail per dwg file (added per Brenehan)
    • DON'T have temporary details and sketches off to the side of your AutoCAD detail file (added per Brenehan)
    • DON'T import cad Details that have attached xrefs (added per Brenehan)
    If you follow these "rules" you will find that you can, nearly always, import a detail "as is" and minimize rework on libraries that will likely remain available for both applications. (stay dwg that is)

    All for now...
    Last edited by Steve_Stafford; 2009-06-02 at 06:48 AM. Reason: Added new additions per Brenehan

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Scott Hopkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Thanks Steve - Good Tips!

  3. #3
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Yeah - super stuff, Steve. Very handy and good to know...
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Phil Read's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    398
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    • DO link (and import) "Current View Only"
    • DON'T explode
    .02

    -Phil
    Last edited by Phil Read; 2004-06-18 at 12:34 AM.

  5. #5
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,485
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Read
    DO link (and import) "Current View Only"
    DON'T explode
    Well said and I've amended the list accordingly...thanks for "proofing", Phil!

  6. #6
    Active Member jontramos's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    74
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Hi Steve,
    Any Do's / Dont's for hatching? Sharing .pat files between Revit & ACAD?

    - Jon

  7. #7
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,485
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Quote Originally Posted by jontramos View Post
    Hi Steve,
    Any Do's / Dont's for hatching? Sharing .pat files between Revit & ACAD?

    - Jon
    Wow, this is an old thread! Um...avoid really dense patterns or really large patterns, they seem to annoy Revit when importing them as part of a dwg detail file. Revit also doesn't really like those really short lines so if a boundary of a hatch has a really short line segment it may also object to the hatch as being "unbounded".

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Hi Steve,

    I've heard that placing AUtocad details in Detail Component Families will improve performance.

    Since this is a more cumbersome workflow that does not allow linking of the detail I'm wondering if you can confirm or deny the rumor?

    Thanks

    Eric

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to brenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-02
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    226
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    DON'T put multiple details on one AutoCAD file. One detail per dwg file and view to allow full view cross referencing if required.
    DON'T have temporary details and sketches out to the side of your AutoCAD detail file.
    DO import all your AutoCAD files on a specific Autocad drawing workset.
    Avoid importing cad files with attached xrefs.
    Brian Renehan

    BIM Consultant
    Melbourne - Australia
    http://bimfix.blogspot.com

  10. #10
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,485
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Acad details - "Best Practices"

    Quote Originally Posted by eric-bowman View Post
    Hi Steve,

    I've heard that placing AUtocad details in Detail Component Families will improve performance.

    Since this is a more cumbersome workflow that does not allow linking of the detail I'm wondering if you can confirm or deny the rumor?

    Thanks

    Eric
    Hey Eric...how's Dallas?

    I've put cad details in Detail Components as a way to deal with a good many "line as inaccurate direction..." errors and such. One cad detail per detail component and the detail component is placed in a drafting view. The annotation won't come across so it will have to be added to the detail inside Revit. It isn't a pretty solution but it avoids having to spend time resolving mess lines that generate errors when you try to sketch over them with Revit linework or worse...explode the detail. Isolating the cad detail in a detail component traps the errors there...or at least they don't show up in the Review Warnings report in the project. I think the Baylor team did this to remove a good many warnings at one point as a stop gap measure until the details could be "Revitized".
    Last edited by Steve_Stafford; 2009-06-02 at 06:50 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-06, 11:54 AM
  2. "Show In" parameter not visible in certain details
    By samloring363900 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-08-05, 05:17 PM
  3. ENTIDADES EN ALIGNMENT COMO "FIXED", "FLOTING" y "FREE"
    By cadia in forum Español - AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-01, 04:21 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-25, 02:52 AM
  5. "Some" AutoCAD LT 2007 details
    By Mike.Perry in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-03-16, 08:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •