Thread: Best practices - giving Revit models to consultants?

All AUGI, all the time DanielleAnderson's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Question Best practices - giving Revit models to consultants?

A new structural consultant was recently brought on board for my main Revit project. I discovered to my utter glee, that the firm uses Revit. I've never worked with a consultant on Revit before so I'm not exactly sure how to handle the pass-off of information.

1) Do I make a copy of the model and get rid of all the superfluous views and sheets?

2) If he's the structural consult, does that mean I should get rid of all columns and slabs in my model and just link his information in?

I've only ever seen one demo of Revit Structure and that was quite a while ago...
    Right now the building is just a shell and core - 160' above ground, 70' below ground. The model itself (and right now it is just one file, no worksets applied yet) is about 50 megs.

Thanks!
    Danielle

All AUGI, all the time robert.manna's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Best practices - giving Revit models to consultants?

I would get your re-seller (or their re-seller, or both) in someone's house quick to give you all the low down on best practices etc. We actually just had that today with our Re-seller and Autodesk, we had Ed Deir (I might be killing his last name) on webex giving a full demo of structural etc. In our case its a little different though as are introducing the engineers to Revit, and their stuff has already gone out to bid, but arch is still on-going. We are hoping they can "play" with Revit structure as we progress as a means to getting to know the software etc.

-R

Login to Give a bone