Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Scale drawing from metric to english

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Scale drawing from metric to english

    I recieved a drawing that was drawn in metric and I need to scale it and convert it to architectural. Can this be done and how.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Nevermind i figured it out. In case anyone else has this problem i did it by drawing a line that was 25.4mm long then changed my units to architectural and drew a line 1" long. selected all to scale and refeerenced the drawing the legnth of the 1" line and brought it to the length of the metric line. From there you have a drawing thwat is 1 to 1 and go from there.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Maverick91's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,324
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Thanks for posting your solution. To my knowledge there's no way to do what you wanted to do originally without using the SCALE command in some way. I deal with this, too, a lot, so I keep an eye out for suggestions.

  4. #4
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Quote Originally Posted by andycrox
    Nevermind i figured it out. In case anyone else has this problem i did it by drawing a line that was 25.4mm long then changed my units to architectural and drew a line 1" long. selected all to scale and refeerenced the drawing the legnth of the 1" line and brought it to the length of the metric line. From there you have a drawing thwat is 1 to 1 and go from there.
    You simply could have typed Scale, selected all, typed R at the command line, and the typed 25.4 for the first distance and 1 for the second distance - no need to draw lines.

  5. #5
    Active Member Cadtharsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Pi World. It's not what I was thinking. :(
    Posts
    90
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    TIP: I find that the ALIGN command allows you to do the same thing as SCALE, and faster.

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick91
    Thanks for posting your solution. To my knowledge there's no way to do what you wanted to do originally without using the SCALE command in some way. I deal with this, too, a lot, so I keep an eye out for suggestions.
    Starting in 2006, this is all relatively automatic if you use INSUNITS properly. Make sure INSUNITS is set correctly in each drawing. If you've been doing all your work with INSUNITS=0 ("Unitless"), you may want to change your habits and start using INSUNITS correctly...

    For example, say your source has 1 Drawing Unit = 1 Meter, and you want it in a drawing where 1 DU = 1 Inch. Make sure INSUNITS is set to "Meters" in your source drawing. Then create or open a drawing with INSUNITS = "Inches". INSERT your source drawing as a block. The conversion will happen automatically, although you may have to move/rotate the inserted block to get it into the correct horizontal placement. The easiest way is to make sure you don't explode the block until you know it is placed correctly.

    A word of warning: Autodesk screwed up with the units. The "Feet" units are really "International Feet". If you're in a state (like Colorado) that uses US Survey Feet instead of International Feet, the conversion won't be quite right...

    Of course, in most situations, the difference between "International Feet" and "US Survey Feet" doesn't matter. But in some cases, the difference does matter, so it's up to the user to pay attention. Autocad does have a "Parsecs" unit, however... Guess there's more Autocad users out there who use Parsecs than there are Autocad users who use US Survey Feet...

  7. #7
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Quote Originally Posted by tburns
    TIP: I find that the ALIGN command allows you to do the same thing as SCALE, and faster.
    Tip:

    You could always memorize these values as I have. When scaling something up to metric, type 25.4

    When scaling something down to Architectural, type 0.0393700787402

    Easy as PIE.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  8. #8
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    Tip:

    You could always memorize these values as I have. When scaling something up to metric, type 25.4

    When scaling something down to Architectural, type 0.0393700787402

    Easy as PIE.
    Yea, me too, I do it so frequently...

  9. #9
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,086
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Quote Originally Posted by andycrox
    I recieved a drawing that was drawn in metric and I need to scale it and convert it to architectural. Can this be done and how.

    Thanks
    Have you looked at the system variables discussed in this AutoCAD FAQ thread, "Blocks, Images or Xrefs not inserting correctly?"?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Scale drawing from metric to english

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    When scaling something down to Architectural, type 0.0393700787402.

    10/254 is easier to remember.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Metric Drawing Scale
    By Joy_1611 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-18, 08:50 PM
  2. English to Metric
    By rvthor in forum MDT - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-07-18, 03:30 PM
  3. Area in metric from English units drawing
    By robert.1.hall72202 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 2006-01-30, 08:58 PM
  4. AEC dims showing metric in an english drawing
    By jonesb33145 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-03-28, 06:49 PM
  5. tranfer drawing scale from imperial to metric
    By new@revit in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-02-17, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •