Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

  1. #1
    Member Alistair0610's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    Abu Dhabi, UAE
    Posts
    30
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    I have a dynamic block of various standard symbols. I would like to have some text associated with that block that will display the name of the current visibility state. I'm too lazy to type in the text and associate it with each visibility state, so I was hoping a field may be able to do it for me. Any ideas?
    --oOo--
    Alistair Clark
    CAD Manager Infrastructure
    Atkins, Middle East

  2. #2
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by alistair.clark.34853
    I have a dynamic block of various standard symbols. I would like to have some text associated with that block that will display the name of the current visibility state. I'm too lazy to type in the text and associate it with each visibility state, so I was hoping a field may be able to do it for me. Any ideas?
    I don't think it's possible to link a field to a visibility state.

    When I trieds to do that, I kept getting an error message saying that the block's reference had been deleted, but it's still there. I tried 3 or 4 other possibilities and was unsuccessful in getting the field to link to a vis state.

    so i don't think it can be done ... yet .... or maybe I'm doing it wrong ....
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  3. #3
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    I don't think it's possible to link a field to a visibility state.

    When I trieds to do that, I kept getting an error message saying that the block's reference had been deleted, but it's still there. I tried 3 or 4 other possibilities and was unsuccessful in getting the field to link to a vis state.

    so i don't think it can be done ... yet .... or maybe I'm doing it wrong ....
    you're doing it wrong....
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  4. #4
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    check this out. you have to use the 'blockplaceholder' option, and insert the field at the time of the attribute creation.....

    i used my stair block from the sharing thread to count its own risers....
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  5. #5
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    check this out. you have to use the 'blockplaceholder' option, and insert the field at the time of the attribute creation.....

    i used my stair block from the sharing thread to count its own risers....
    y'know what? I tried that exact same configuration and it yielded no results for me.

    i'll have to go back and re-check everything. there was probably something simple I forgot to do ..... in any case ... I stand corrected. My apologies for getting it wrong.

    It's halloween ... probably a result of the massive sugar rush i've been on since 8am .....
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    y'know what? I tried that exact same configuration and it yielded no results for me.

    i'll have to go back and re-check everything. there was probably something simple I forgot to do ..... in any case ... I stand corrected. My apologies for getting it wrong.

    It's halloween ... probably a result of the massive sugar rush i've been on since 8am .....
    'exactly'??? did you 'sync' it after? did you regen? did you check it to show up for all vis states? didjadidjadidja? (<-got my own sugar rush going)

    oh, and you're supposed to give the candy to the KIDS, Rico!
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  7. #7
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    'exactly'??? did you 'sync' it after? did you regen? did you check it to show up for all vis states? didjadidjadidja? (<-got my own sugar rush going)

    oh, and you're supposed to give the candy to the KIDS, Rico!
    I DO!

    One for them, one for me ... one for them, two for me ...

    Maybe I just forgot to attsync it afterwards. and I know I didn't regen or purge the old values .... (*sigh*) .... where's the dunce hat? (*sulking towards corner*)
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  8. #8
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    I DO!

    One for them, one for me ... one for them, two for me ...

    Maybe I just forgot to attsync it afterwards. and I know I didn't regen or purge the old values .... (*sigh*) .... where's the dunce hat? (*sulking towards corner*)
    i think you're exempt cuz of basic geometry... (round hat, block head).... ahem....

    anyway, the quick tests get the best of us....

    (now share that candy like your mama taught you!)
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  9. #9
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    i think you're exempt cuz of basic geometry... (round hat, block head).... ahem....

    anyway, the quick tests get the best of us....

    (now share that candy like your mama taught you!)
    i am able to squeeze a round block into a square hole ....... so maybe i am not exempt ....

    you can have the old gummies but the chocolate belongs to ME!

    This is how my mom taught me to share .... none for them, one for me ..... none for them .... two for me ...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  10. #10
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a Field from a Visibility State

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    i am able to squeeze a round block into a square hole ....... so maybe i am not exempt ....

    you can have the old gummies but the chocolate belongs to ME!

    This is how my mom taught me to share .... none for them, one for me ..... none for them .... two for me ...
    i guess... especially as you have the arrangement backwards again...

    sure, i've had enough today...

    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Visibility State "Walk"
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-03-29, 01:29 PM
  2. Default Visibility State
    By sovby254640 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2012-09-04, 06:12 PM
  3. Visibility State Control
    By Ant59 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-07-08, 09:10 AM
  4. Add / Allow more than one Visibility State
    By ks.ngocanh in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2006-12-21, 03:26 PM
  5. Update a Field using a visibility state in a Block
    By pangell in forum AutoCAD Fields
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2006-07-18, 01:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •