See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    24
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    ref: autocad 2006

    can i give to autocad something like .187/2 expression when he ask to have value.

    if yes how can i do that?

    best regards
    luc

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Avatart's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Upsidedown in dreamtown
    Posts
    928
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Quote Originally Posted by lcarignan
    ref: autocad 2006

    can i give to autocad something like .187/2 expression when he ask to have value.

    if yes how can i do that?

    best regards
    luc
    Yes, use the 'Cal function, or evaluate in brackets with AutoLisp code (ie Enter (/ 0.187 2) at the Command Line.)

  3. #3
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Quote Originally Posted by carl_hd_collins
    Yes, use the 'Cal function, or evaluate in brackets with AutoLisp code (ie Enter (/ 0.187 2) at the Command Line.)
    I remember that it USED to be that you could type 12'/4 (for example) and CAD would do the math for you .... is that still possible or did quick calc replace that function?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    24
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Thank you

    it is working, problem fixed.

    Luc

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time Avatart's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Upsidedown in dreamtown
    Posts
    928
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    I remember that it USED to be that you could type 12'/4 (for example) and CAD would do the math for you .... is that still possible or did quick calc replace that function?
    I don't do that no more. The 'Cal and Lisp still work though.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to lmitsou's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-01
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    219
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    I remember that it USED to be that you could type 12'/4 (for example) and CAD would do the math for you .... is that still possible or did quick calc replace that function?
    Just tried it and it seems to work ...still (Acad2007)

  7. #7
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,084
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    I remember that it USED to be that you could type 12'/4 (for example) and CAD would do the math for you .... is that still possible or did quick calc replace that function?
    It would also depend on your LUNITS system variable. Since you are trying to divide 12 feet by 4 inches, your LUNITS would need to be set to 3 or 4 for that to work.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  8. #8
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie
    It would also depend on your LUNITS system variable. Since you are trying to divide 12 feet by 4 inches, your LUNITS would need to be set to 3 or 4 for that to work.
    hmmm ... i'l check that out. It hasn't been working for me recently and that may be why ... thanks.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  9. #9
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    102
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    Weird - In Acad 2007, it works with /, but not with +, -, or *. And only works with / when you use integers, although it returns fractional results. I guess I'll stick with in-line LISP formating for consistency's sake.

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: AutoCAD input with equation eg 187/2 expression

    If you input an expression without using 'cal, it will only accept integers.
    Example; to convert mm to inches is 1/25.4 which is not acceptable though 10/254 is acceptable.

    HTH

Similar Threads

  1. Complex equation functionality
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-02-03, 03:27 PM
  2. 2014: Station Equation in Profile
    By FBL - Desirea in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Profiles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-08-07, 09:47 PM
  3. Need Help on A Simple Equation
    By BeKirra in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-09-07, 05:43 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-01-24, 02:44 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-12-29, 02:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •