Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Blank default profile for new users

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Blank default profile for new users

    I have searched this forum and can't find exactly what i want. I am trying to create a default Autocad 2007 profile that can be imported into a new user's setup. If i export my own profile than obviously under the 'Files' tab there are many options set to my username folders under 'Documents and Settings' so when i import it into a new installation the wrong folders will be set.
    I need to be able to either
    1. Change the settings in the Options dialog then export or
    2. Edit the ARG file and remove any reference to my username and replace it with
    %Userprofilefolder%
    The problems with these are that :
    1. If i strike out all these settings to my username, when i try to apply in order to export, it tells me that certain items need to be set and will automatically revert to the previous setting (my username) and
    2. Most of this seemed to work with the exception that i could not get "Options" > "Files" > "Main Customization File" to find the Custom.cui in Docs and Sets while substituting the new user name.
    FYI we have Custom.cui as our main and Acad.cui (with our own partials) as our enterprise.
    Thanks for any help!!!!

  2. #2
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,811
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Blank default profile for new users

    Unless there is some reason that you have to export/import a profile, I would suggest to forget about exporting/importing profiles and simply use a lisp/vba routine to set it up like you want.

    One advantage of doing it this was is that variables such as ROAMABLEROOTPREFIX and LOCALROOTPREFIX are expanded at run time so that you get the correct path for each logged on user. (the \Documents & Settings\ paths)

    You could run this routine once at system setup, or like in my case, run this each time AutoCAD starts (via the "acad.lsp" file) so that the paths, etc. are reset each time.

    A sample of this code in lisp can be found here
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Blank default profile for new users

    Thanks for the tip. I never even considered using lisp to set this up so will give it a go. I followed the link to your previous thread on this subject and am looking at the excerpt from your lisp routine. I have made most settings adjustments to suit our variations but one line still confuses me a little.
    We have a users custom.cui as the main cui while the enterprise cui is acad.cui with our in-house partials loaded. Looking through the object model i see the objects to modify such as:-
    (vla-put-EnterpriseMenuFile *files* "\\\\SERVER\\acad\\bg-acad\\CUI-2007\\ACAD")
    but i am not sure of the next line to point to the main cui
    (vla-put-MenuFile *files* ??????????????????????) ; Main CUI
    Should this read :-
    (vla-put-MenuFile *files* (strcat(getvar "ROAMABLEROOTPREFIX") "SUPPORT\\CUSTOM")
    Cheers.

Similar Threads

  1. Profile Database for Brazilian Users
    By lm_borges365014 in forum AutoCAD Structural Detailing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-25, 10:20 PM
  2. New Default Profile
    By Grumple in forum ACA General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-07-24, 11:25 AM
  3. How to Set your Profile.arg to default!
    By Cosmic Traveller in forum AutoCAD Mechanical - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-12-13, 07:45 PM
  4. Set-up an AutoCAD Profile for part-time users
    By rwbaker in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-12-09, 05:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •