Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

  1. #1
    100 Club timothyjturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    3D Solids in Acad 2005.....

    Hello, I have not messed with 3d stuff very much and I'm having quite a time trying to get this drawing to look correctly. I'm basically just trying to show some conduit runs in 3d and show some equipment in place....

    My biggest problem is that I can not get the orientation of my items correct. When I move stuff around in one view, it seems as if i have moved it to the correct location, but when I switch views, I notice that it is actually wrong. i.e. - I move it in SW iso and then i switch to another ISO view and maybe height is right but x,y is wrong.

    When I move my cursor around in iso view, the x,y coords change but the z does not.


    What is the trick to this?
    Last edited by timothyjturner; 2006-11-16 at 04:36 PM.

  2. #2
    100 Club timothyjturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    actually i think its coming back to me, i have to keep changing what ucs im working in right?....but i need to figure out how to get the x,y,z arrows on the bottom corner of my screen! argh!

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,503
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    Quote Originally Posted by timothyjturner
    actually i think its coming back to me, i have to keep changing what ucs im working in right?....but i need to figure out how to get the x,y,z arrows on the bottom corner of my screen! argh!
    Have you tried using the "view" options? type "view" and under "Orthographic and Isometric views" you can set which ever one you want current and the ucs is associated with it.

    This works with multiple vports as well.

  4. #4
    100 Club timothyjturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    that does not help, my Z is still always at 0 no matter where i draw.

  5. #5
    100 Club timothyjturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    I think i could probably figure this out if i could just figure out how to get my arrows back so i can see the current ucs.

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,503
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    Quote Originally Posted by timothyjturner
    that does not help, my Z is still always at 0 no matter where i draw.
    If your trying to move something in the z axis you could do one of a couple of things:

    1) command "change" "properties" "elevation" "<your desired z value>"

    2) command "move" "0,0,0" "0,0,<your desired z value>"

    Or rotate your ucs so "z" isn't facing you like
    command "usc" "x" "-90" (this places z up and puts y pointing away from you)
    This allows you to move things up the z value while you're looking at it.

    good luck, I hope any of this helps

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,503
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    Quote Originally Posted by timothyjturner
    I think i could probably figure this out if i could just figure out how to get my arrows back so i can see the current ucs.
    on the command line: "ucsicon" "on" and "uscicon" "noorigin" that turns it on if it isnt and takes it off 0,0,0 and just puts it at the lower left hand corner of you screen

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,086
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    In your Options Dialog under the Drafting tab, do you have the option checked for "Replace Z value with current elevation"? In other words, what is your OSNAPZ system variable set to?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    Use the VIEW toolbar. The first 6 buttons set orthogonal views AND change the co-ordinate system to match so, in the front, back and side views, the original z direction is now y.
    The other 4 buttons give isometric(ish) views but don't change the co-ordinate system.

  10. #10
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie
    In your Options Dialog under the Drafting tab, do you have the option checked for "Replace Z value with current elevation"? In other words, what is your OSNAPZ system variable set to?
    Hi

    Unfortunately OSnapZ is not an option in AutoCAD 2005.

    OSnapZ first appeared in AutoCAD 2006.

    Have a good one, Mike

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Microstation Solids to Autocad Solids
    By boyerd492098 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-05-28, 05:14 PM
  2. Boolean operations aren't working on solids
    By andrew.189591 in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-07-25, 08:02 PM
  3. Strange things appear / happen on screen when working with 3D Solids
    By omorah in forum AutoCAD 3D (2006 or below)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-20, 08:28 AM
  4. ADT 2005 to AutoCAD 2007 back to ADT 2005
    By yoshi.honda in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 05:50 AM
  5. Importing MD 2005 2D fastener library parts into AutoCAD 2005
    By garyp.97584 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-18, 09:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •