Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Dummy Dimension family

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Dummy Dimension family

    I seem to remember some discussion a while back about a dummy dimension, for use when you want the look of a dimension, but with just some text. For example, in AutoCAD I would often have a dimension that showed the extension line and a tick on one side, and no extension line and an arrow on the other. This was good for showing an open ended dimension with text that said Existing or New.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Gordon

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time gwnelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Westchester County, NY, USA
    Posts
    612
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    I just duplicated a damily & chqanged the text size to really tiny (1/256" is the smallest) & then you can just add text to the dim line. It would be nice to override text like that other program.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    Quote Originally Posted by gwnelson
    I just duplicated a damily & chqanged the text size to really tiny (1/256" is the smallest) & then you can just add text to the dim line. It would be nice to override text like that other program.
    We have just been dropping a piece of text with an opaque background over the dimension, but that feels like early 90s era AutoCAD, not early 21st Century Revit!
    Hopefully there is either a better answer, or some improvements in 10.

    Best,
    Gordon

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Rhythmick's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    323
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    There was THIS thread!
    Mike Lenz
    Genuine Homes Corp

    "Gone Fishing"

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    I would suggest setting up a dimension style with a blank font (ttf). Place your dimension as you normally would. It will place the extensions and ticks but no font. All you'll need to do is add your own text. We tried the opaque text method mentioned above but found this solution much better. I found a blank font via google. If you have no luck finding one I'd be more than happy to pass mine along.

    Regards,
    Steve
    Steven W Cox, RA
    IT/CAD Manager
    Hollis + Miller Architects

  6. #6
    100 Club cstanley's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    168
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    that sounds like a solid answer. may i see an example of your blank font?

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    Quote Originally Posted by cstanley
    that sounds like a solid answer. may i see an example of your blank font?
    Solid WORK AROUND sure, but a solid ANSWER is the ability to override the dim value. And while they are at it, the ability to add text below the dim line ala AutoCAD "\X" would be nice.

    Gordon

  8. #8
    100 Club s.messing's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Location
    Cambridge, MA
    Posts
    174
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dummy Dimension family

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Cox
    I would suggest setting up a dimension style with a blank font (ttf). Place your dimension as you normally would. It will place the extensions and ticks but no font. All you'll need to do is add your own text. We tried the opaque text method mentioned above but found this solution much better. I found a blank font via google. If you have no luck finding one I'd be more than happy to pass mine along.

    Regards,
    Steve
    Excellent. First time I have seen this answer. We use the opaque backed regular text trick, but I'd be interested to see this blank font thing in action. It seems to make more sense.
    Thanks for the suggestion.
    Stephen

    PS: I would certainly not complain if you do share the text with us.

Similar Threads

  1. Where is the dummy forum?
    By jmdraft0 in forum New Forum Users (Non technical)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2012-02-28, 05:59 PM
  2. dummy people pass
    By batproj in forum Français - 3ds Max / Maya
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-11-22, 01:33 PM
  3. Standard details - best in dummy project or template?
    By fernandez in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-04-23, 05:06 PM
  4. DCL's for dummy
    By gfreddog in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-02-06, 04:59 PM
  5. How do I make a dummy schedule?
    By whatisrice in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-03-25, 03:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •